WXV2: Scotland to play South Africa, USA and Japan

The second tier of the new global tournament will be held in Stellenbosch and Cape Town over three weekends in October

Leah Bartlett
Leah Bartlett in action for Scotland against Japan when the teams last met in late 2021. Image: © INPHO/Craig Watson.

SCOTLAND’s opponents in October’s WXV2 tournament will be the United States, Japan and hosts South Africa, World Rugby has announced. Italy and Samoa, the other countries in the six-team division, will also face the same opponents as Scotland, with the final placings being decided on points earned.

The first round of matches on the weekend of 14 October will take place at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch. The teams will then move to the Athlone Stadium in Cape Town for rounds two and three. 

“It’s really exciting to play against teams that you traditionally don’t play against too often,” Scotland head coach Bryan Easson said. “We’ve got three fantastic teams as our opponents and it’s a great opportunity to test ourselves against different playing styles that are outside of our usual Six Nations counterparts.

“We played Japan two years ago at Hive Stadium in what was a really tough but exciting fixture. The red card that Japan received during that game really changed the momentum and we were able to make the most of that numerical advantage and ultimately secure a 36-12 win.

“We played [and won] two Tests in Cape Town back in 2019 against South Africa and they have made huge inroads since then, with the union really taking on the women’s team and making some positive progress in their performances. They’ve got some real talent within that squad, with a number of players featuring in the Premiership in England, so it should be a really exciting fixture against the hosts.

“USA have been a top-five side in the world for a long time now and were unfortunate in their recent Pacific Four campaign. We played them in August last year ahead of the Rugby World Cup and that was a game that got away from us and that we were disappointed in the result, so we will be raring for the challenge to really test ourselves against the side once again.”

WXV1 consists of England, France and Wales – the top three teams from this year’s Six Nations – and Australia, Canada and hosts New Zealand, who were the leading trio in the Pacific Four Series. Each European team will play each Pacific qualifier in a series of games which will culminate with a repeat of last year’s World Cup final between England and New Zealand.

The three rounds of pool games in WXV1 will take place on the weekend of 21 October in Wellington, 27 October in Dunedin and 3 November in Auckland.

Ireland are in WXV3, which will be held in Dubai. They, along with Kenya and Fiji, will play against Colombia, Kazakhstan and Spain, with games taking place on the same weekends as WXV2.

The new three-tier tournament is planned to be held annually except for World Cup years.

WXV2 (All kick-offs British time)

Sat 14 October

Italy v Japan (1pm)

Scotland v South Africa (3.30pm)

Sat 14 or Sun 15 

USA v Samoa (tbc)

Sat 21 

USA v Scotland (1pm)

Italy v South Africa (3.30pm)

Sun 22

Japan v Samoa (3pm)

Sat 28

Japan v Scotland (1pm)

South Africa v Samoa (3.30pm)

Sun 29

USA v Italy (4pm).

About Stuart Bathgate 1412 Articles
Stuart has been the rugby correspondent for both The Scotsman and The Herald, and was also The Scotsman’s chief sports writer for 14 years from 2000.