Women Under-20s squad announced

SCOTLAND WOMEN under-20s head coach Ross Miller has named a 23 player squad for the match against Belgium at Stade des 3 Tilleuls on Sunday 20th March. It includes three BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 players – Caitlin Harvey, Lucy Park and Louise McMillan.

This will be the side’s third and final fixture for this season, following seven training camps and two friendly matches against the Royal Air Force and the University of Edinburgh.

Scotland under-20 defeated the RAF by 25-5 at the start of February. They backed this up with an improved performance that resulted in a 24-0 win over the University of Edinburgh a fortnight later.

“This game against Belgium Women will be a real test for them after making progress since their first camp in October,” said Miller.

“We are playing the national senior women’s team so we’re expecting them to be more experienced than our players.”

About 50 players have been involved in Scotland Women under-20 camps this season from a range of Scottish and English clubs.

“Scotland Women under-20s is a development squad in terms of giving girls the opportunity to step up and play senior women’s rugby.

“At the same time, it’s also about performance, as they’re representing their country and they’ve got to uphold the standards of being an international athlete.

“Over the past five months they have been committed, enthusiastic and have made progress both individually and as a unit.

“It will be great to see what they can do against Belgium Women and gauge how far they have come this season.”

Abi Evans adds her experience to the under-20s after coming off the bench against Wales and Italy in this year’s Women’s Six Nations.

Scotland Women under-20 squad to play Belgium Women at Stade des 3 Tilleuls, Brussels on Sunday 20 March (kick-off 3pm local) –

Fiona Cooper (University of St Andrews / Howe of Fife)

Ellen Dewson (Wellingborough Rugby Club / Loughborough)

Abi Evans (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Coreen Grant (Murrayfield Wanderers / Durham University)

Chloe Hannant (Aberdeenshire Quines)

Caitlin Harvey* (Caithness RFC)

Nicola Howat (Howe of Fife / Edinburgh University)

Hannah Illingworth (Tynedale RFC)

Kristin Jones (Gloucester Hartpury)

Hannah Kurtz (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Rachel Law (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Mairi McDonald (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Louise McMillan* (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Siobhan McMillan (Cartha Queens Park RFC)

Caitlin Morrell (Tynedale RFC)

Lucy Park* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Kirsty Reid (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Amy Sanderson (RHC Cougars)

Catherine Shennan (Ayr Ladies)

Kathryn Stewart (Morgan RFC)

Kelsey Swift (Ayr Ladies)

Eilidh Towers (Glasgow University)

Jessica Young (Leeds Beckett University)

* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 players 2015/16

About David Barnes 3956 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.