U20 6N: Three changes for Scotland ahead of Wales Test

Cameron Anderson, Robbie McCallum and Kwagga van Niekerk return to starting XV

Robbie McCallum
Robbie McCallum returns to the Scotland Under-20s starting XV at inside centre against Wales. Image: Fotosport/David Gibson

SCOTLAND Under-20s head coach Carl Hogg has made three changes to the side which started against France 12 days ago for the team’s penultimate Six Nations fixture against Wales at Meggetland on Friday night.

He has restored to the centre combination which started the championship, with Wasps Academy prospect Cameron Anderson returning to the No 13 jersey after missing the Pau trip with a shoulder injury in place of Ollie Smith (who drops to the bench), and Robbie McCallum continuing at No 12 having taking over from Grant Hughes (knee injury) in the opening minutes of the France game.

Meanwhile, South African recruit Kwagga van Niekerk comes back in at No 8 after being unable to travel last time out, in place of Ross Bundy (who takes Teddy Leatherbarrow‘s replacement slot).

Scotland v Wales: time to rebuild the fortress, says Hamish Watson

Roving Reporter: Misfits Berwick are in a happy place

Scotland v Wales: Sean Maitland and Chris Harris drop out through injury

Scotland are zero from three in the championship so far, but have shown admirable resilience, especially against France when they fell three tries behind inside the opening half hour but battled back to score five tries in a 42-27 defeat, earning themselves their first bonus point of the competition in the process.

Fresh from his first competitive outing for Edinburgh last weekend, Jack Blain has been named on the wing, and will look to carry on the fine form which saw its cross the try-line twice against France.

Scotland Under-20 (versus Wales at Meggetland on Friday – kick-off 7.30pm): Matt Davidson (London Scottish); Rory McMichael (Heriot’s), Cameron Anderson (Wasps), Robbie McCallum (Complutense Cisneros), Jack Blain (Heriot’s); Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks), Roan Frostwick (Currie Chieftains);  Murphy Walker (Stirling County), Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks), Euan McLaren (Ayr), Ewan Johnson (Racing 92), Cameron Henderson (Stirling County), Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s), Connor Boyle (Watsonians)©, Kwagga van Niekerk (Lions). Substitutes: Angus Fraser (Glasgow Hawks), Andrew Nimmo (Glasgow Hawks), Will Hurd (Cardiff Metropolitan University), Ross Bundy (Stirling County), Jack Mann (Edinburgh Accies), Murray Scott (Watsonians), Nathan Chamberlain (Bristol Bears), Ollie Smith (Ayr).

  • Full interview with Carl Hogg will be published at 10pm

Tennent’s Premiership Dream Team of the Season (2018-19)


About David Barnes 4026 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.