U20 6N: Captain Robbie Smith to miss Italy clash

Hooker ruled out of final Six Nations match with ankle injury

Robbie Smith
Robbie Smith with the man-of-the-match award after leading Scotland Under-20 to a famous win over England earlier in the championship. ***Image: Craig Watson - www.craigwatson.co.uk

SCOTLAND UNDER-20s will be without influential captain Robbie Smith for their final game of this Six Nations campaign against Italy at Bari’s Stadio della Vittoria on Friday afternoon (kick-off 3pm local time / 2pm GMT). The Ayr hooker has been ruled out with an ankle injury suffered whilst playing against Ireland in Dublin last weekend.

Paul Cairncross of Glasgow Hawks is parachuted straight into the starting fifteen in place of Smith, having not been involved in any of the previous four games in this campaign. The hooker did take part in the warm-up match against the Club XV at the end of January but but was injured for a few games and was not selected in the others.

Smith’s Ayr club-mate Stafford McDowall has taken over the captaincy of the side, while Watsonians’ second-row Jamie Hodgson will lead the pack.

The only other change is on the right wing where Stirling County’s Logan Trotter replaces the injured Rory McMichael, with Sam Yawayawa named on the bench.

Scotland U20 team to face Italy U20 at Stadio della Vittora in the U20 Six Nations this Friday 16 March (kick-off 3pm local time) –


 15. Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)


14. Logan Trotter (Stirling County)

13. Fraser Strachan (Northampton Saints)

12. Stafford McDowall (Ayr) CAPTAIN

11. Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)


10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)

9. Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)


1. Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies)

2. Paul Cairncross (Glasgow Hawks)

3. Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

4. Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

5. Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians) VICE CAPTAIN

6. Martin Hughes (Heriots)

7. Rory Darge (Melrose)

8. Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)




16. Bradley Clements (Ealing)

17. Nathan McBeth (Lions)

18. Murphy Walker (Strathallan School)

19. Marshall Sykes (St Joseph’s College / Northampton Saints)

20. Connor Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College)

21. Kaleem Barreto (Marr)

22. Mark New (Glasgow Hawks)

23. Sam Yawayawa (Glasgow Hawks)

About David Barnes 4026 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.