Super Series Sprint: round five team-of-the-week

Watsonians and Stirling Wolves contribute four players each

Benedict Grant rises to collect line-out ball for Stirling Wolves versus Southern Knights. Image: Bryan Robertson
Benedict Grant rises to collect line-out ball for Stirling Wolves versus Southern Knights. Image: Bryan Robertson

GLENN BRYCE retains the No 15 jersey after his man-of-the-match performance in Stirling Wolves’ home win over Southern Knights, Mason Cullen’s wonderful late solo try for Boroughmuir Bears was enough in itself to earn him a spot on the right wing (although Luca Bardelli who also scored a scorcher can feel aggrieved at missing out), while Michael Gray’s solid work in defence and powerful running for Heriot’s earns him selection on the opposite touchline.

Ben Salmon was always dangerous for Wolves so edges ahead of George Pringle of Watsonians and Alex Thom of Boroughmuir Bears at outside-centre, and his partner in midfield is the tidy Scott King of Watsonians, with Marcus Holden of Wolves unfortunate to miss out.

Craig Jackson provided control for Wolves with his passing and kicking range so is at stand-off, while teenager Hector Patterson stepped up to the plate an an early replacement for the concussed Murdo McAndrew at scrum-half for Watsonians.

Super Series Sprint: stalemate leaves Ayrshire Bulls and Heriot’s with everything to play for

Super Series Sprint: Stirling Wolves stay in title race with win over Southern Knights

Super Series Sprint: Watsonians squeeze past belligerent Boroughmuir Bears

Andrew Nimmo of the Bulls and try-scorer Ewan McLaren of Heriot’s had a ding-dong battle at scrum time and both showed up well in the loose, so they are selected as the two props, with hat-trick hero and man-of-the-match Cal Davies the hooker. Honourable mentions are owed to Gregor Hiddleston of Wolves and Corey Tait of Boroughmuir Bears,

Luis Ball of Watsonians and Rory Jackson of Ayrshire Bulls are named in the second-row, with Ronan Seydak of Heriot’s unlucky to miss out on this occasion.

In the back-row, Charlie Jupp put in a huge shift at blindside flanker as Heriot’s battled back to secure a well-deserved draw at Millbrae, Allan Ferrie was tireless and a real handful at the breakdown on the openside as Southern Knights fought hard at Bridgehaugh, and Benedict Grant of Stirling Wolves gets the nod at No 8 ahead of Neil Irvine-Hess of Watsonians and Trystan Andrews of Boroughmuir Bears.

  • To view The Offside Line’s StatCentre for the 2023 SuperSeries Sprint, click HERE.


15. Glenn Bryce (Stirling Wolves)


14. Mason Cullen (Boroughmuir Bears)

13. Ben Salmon (Stirling Wolves)

12. Scott King (Watsonians)

11. Michael Gray (Heriot’s)


10. Craig Jackson (Stirling Wolves)

9. Hector Patterson (Watsonians)


1. Andrew Nimmo (Ayrshire Bulls)

2.  Cal Davies (Watsonians)

3. Euan McLaren (Heriot’s)

4. Luis Ball (Watsonians)

5. Rory Jackson (Ayrshire Bulls)

6. Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s)

7. Allan Ferrie (Southern Knights)

8. Benedict Grant (Stirling Wolves)

Melrose claim Kings of Sevens crown during triumph at Jed