SRU announces FOSROC Academy ‘supported’ player intake for 2019-20

35 male and female players will be assisted on a part-time basis

Scotland international Annabel Sergeant is part of the academy programme. Image: © Craig Watson -
Scotland international Annabel Sergeant is part of the academy programme. Image: © Craig Watson -

SCOTTISH RUGBY has named 35 players who will make up the bulk of the roster of Stage One and Two players for the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy programme.

While the 30 full-time Stage Three players (announced in July) have been allocated to Super6 teams, these part-time ‘supported’ players will generally remain aligned to their local club or school, with a few exceptions such as Gavin Wilson who is part of the Ayrshire Bulls squad, Patrick McVeigh at Heriot’s, and Euan Cunningham and Josh King at Stirling County.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend’s son Christian, who is at Stewart’s Melville College in Edinburgh, is on the list.

There is a total of 18 players from the Scotland Women Performance programme who are part of the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy for this season.

Glasgow Warriors v Southern Kings: Rennie calls up six World Cup players

FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players for 2019-20 revealed

World Cup qualification all that matters to Scotland Women head coach Philip Doyle

​2019-20 FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy supported players –

Borders & East Lothian: Archie Bogle (Melrose/Duns), Scott Clark (Preston Lodge), Kieran Clarke (Earlston High School/Melrose), Sam Derrick (Earlston HS/Melrose), Patrick Harrison (Peebles), Thomas Jeffrey (Jed-Forest), James Johnstone (Preston Lodge), Vangel Kacori (Watsonians), Matthew Kindness (Kelso), Ben Pickles (Preston Lodge), Matt Reid (Galashiels Academy/Wanderers), Corey Tait (Hawick HS/Hawick RFC), Mak Wilson (Southern Knights).

Caledonia: Tim Brown (Dundee), Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County), Euan Cunningham (Stirling County), Jack Duncan (Ellon), Archie Falconer (Ellon), Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars), Thomas Glendinning (Kirkcaldy), Michael Gray (Dollar Academy), Joe Halliday (Strathallan), Mikey Heron (Stirling Wolves), Josh King (Stirling County), Ross McKnight (Dollar Academy), Alex Samuel (Stirling County), Ben Salmon (Dollar Academy), Callum Stephen (Deeside Rugby), Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars), Max Williamson (Dollar Academy).

Edinburgh: Callum Anderson (George Heriot’s School), Ryan Daley (George Watson’s College), Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University), Megan Gaffney (Watsonians), Angus Hoffie (George Watson’s College), Duncan Hood (Stewart’s Melville College), Nicola Howat (Edinburgh University), Michael Jones (Stewart’s Melville College), Cole Lamberton (Edinburgh Accies), Sarah Law (DMP Sharks), Fraser Macaslan (Royal High School), Patrick McVeigh (Heriot’s/Edinburgh University), Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University/Watsonians), Gregor Scougall (George Watson’s College), Annabel Sergeant (Heriot’s), Cameron Scott (Watsonians), Robbie Simpson (Edinburgh Accies), Christian Townsend (Stewart’s Melville College), Struan Whittaker (Edinburgh Accies), Molly Wright (Watsonians).

Glasgow & the West: Sophie Anderson (Hillhead Jordanhill), Trystan Andrews (Melrose), George Breese (Stirling County), Finlay Callaghan (tbc), Jamie Campbell (Biggar), Scott Clelland (Ayr), Jordan Craig (GHA), Jamie Drummond (Marr), Dean Hunter (Stirling County), Rachel McLachlan (DMP Sharks), Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill), Adam Scott (GHA), Joseph Strain (Glasgow Hawks), Gavin Wilson (Ayrshire Bulls), Cameron Young (Ayr).

2019-20 FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players –

Retained: Connor Boyle (Watsonians Rugby), Rory Darge (Southern Knights), Roan Frostwick (Watsonians Rugby), Shaun Gunn (Southern Knights), Cameron Henderson (Stirling County), Euan McLaren (Ayrshire Bulls), Rufus McLean (Boroughmuir Bears), Finlay Scott (Southern Knights), Ollie Smith (Ayrshire Bulls), Marshal Sykes (Ayrshire Bulls), Ross Thompson (Ayrshire Bulls), Murphy Walker (Stirling County), Dan Winning (Boroughmuir Bears).

Promoted: Gregor Brown (Boroughmuir Bears), Matt Currie (Watsonians Rugby), Angus Fraser (Stirling County), Dan Gamble (Heriot’s Rugby), Jacob Henry (Southern Knights), Grant Hughes (Stirling County), Rory Jackson (Ayrshire Bulls), Rory Jackson (Watsonians Rugby), Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s Rugby), Kristian Kay (Stirling County), Scott King (Heriot’s Rugby), Jack Mann (Heriot’s Rugby), Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir), Nathan Sweeney (Southern Knights).

New additions: Sam Grahamslaw (Watsonians Rugby), Robbie McCallum (Boroughmuir Bears), Harry Paterson (Heriot’s Rugby).

FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players for 2019-20 revealed

About David Barnes 3908 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.