Squads for Under-19 1872 Cup clash announced

Youngsters will hope to push their case for selection to Scotland's Under-20s programme this season

Eric Davey is one of 10 Glasgow Hawks players in the Glasgow Warriors Under-19s squad. Image: Bob Coats
Eric Davey is one of 10 Glasgow Hawks players in the Glasgow Warriors Under-19s squad. Image: Bob Coats

THE squads to play in tomorrow’s [Tuesday] Under-19 1872 Cup clash have been named. The game will be played at Scotstoun, kicking off at 3pm, between Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors sides selected from players who represent the two pro clubs’ wider regions.

The match has been identified by Kenny Murray, ‘Head of Player Transition’ for Scottish Rugby, as an important opportunity for players to push their claim for inclusion in Scotland’s Under-20s squad this season.


Glasgow Warriors Under-19s: Scott Watson (Ayr); Callum Stephen (GHA), Finlay Thompson (Musselburgh), Aminio Bogidrau (GHA), Amena Caqusau (GHA); Andrew McLean (Glasgow Hawks), Eric Davey (Glasgow Hawks); Aaron Burgess (Glasgow Hawks), Lachlan Forsyth (Stirling County), Eben Cairns (Glasgow Hawks), Ruaridh Hart (Glasgow Hawks), Ryan Burke (Glasgow Hawks), Adam Flynn (GHA), Craig Nolan (Glasgow Hawks), Jonny Morris (Unattached). Replacements: Patrick Rodgerson (Glasgow University), Ollie Bowden (GHA), Cameron Murphy (Stirling County), Robin Pratt (Glasgow University), Archie Clarke (Dundee Rugby), Finn Carden (GHA), Euan McAra| (Glasgow Hawks),  Kerr Yule (Glasgow Hawks), Euan Muirhead (Glasgow Hawks), Ross Birnie (Robert Gordons College/Gordonians).

Edinburgh Under-19s: Innes Parkin (Heriot’s); Finlay Wheelans (Selkirk), Kerr Johnston (Boroughmuir Bears), Alex Thom (Stirling Wolves), Noah Sakapaji (Heriot’s); Luke Townsend (Melrose), Hector Patterson (Hawick); Craig Davidson (Watsonians), Jerry Blyth Lafferty (Boroughmuir Bears), Andrew Kirk (Melrose), Euan McVie (Edinburgh Accies), Duncan Webb (Heriot’s), Liam Habib (Boroughmuir), Monroe Job (Selkirk), Finlay Sinclair (Peebles). Replacements: Marcus Brogan (Hawick), Ross Brown (Musselburgh),  Cameron Cartwright (Edinburgh Accies), Charlie Burns (St Andrews University), Ben Weir (Melrose), Ewan Hunter (Peebles), Ross Cadzow (St Andrews University), Guy Kirkpatrick (Heriot’s), Patrick Cannon (Peebles), Gavin Lockhart (Boroughmuir Bears).

Super6 Final: Watsonians claim Championship after epic battle versus Ayrshire Bulls

About David Barnes 3956 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.