BOTH of the under-16s sides which are representing Scotland at the Conwy International Rugby Festival in Wales this week had disappointing starts to their respective campaigns on Sunday.

The Reds lost 29-12 to the Welsh Academies. Kyle Scott and Euan Henderson scored tries either side of half-tome for the young Scots, while Rufus McLean converted the first of those scores.

Meanwhile, the Blues lost out 22-5 against Wales RGC. Jordan Miller was the man who dotted down for Scotland.

Both sides are back in action on Wednesday, with the Reds taking on France East before the Blues face France West.

On Saturday, Wales RGC play against the Reds and the Blues face the Welsh Academies.

Scotland Reds: Robbie McCallum (West of Scotland / Loretto School); Lucas Reid (Ross High / Ross HS), Hamish Scanlan (Merchiston Castle School), Hector McKechnie (George Heriot’s School), Euan Henderson (Stewart’s Melville College); Rufus McLean (Merchiston Castle School), Roan Frostwick (North Berwick / North Berwick HS); Thomas Jeffrey (Peebles / Peebles HS), Kyle Scott (Preston Lodge HS), Dan Gamble (Kelso / Kelso HS), Ben Marshall (George Watson’s College), Jack Hill (Bowdon / Altrincham Grammar School), Rory Darge (North Berwick / North Berwick HS), Connor Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College), Tyler Thomas (Merchiston Castle School). Replacements: Mak Wilson (Duns / Eyemouth HS), Ewan Ashman (Sandbach RUFC / Sandbach HS), Jamie Lumsden (Livingston / James Young HS), Stuart Sutherland (RHC Cougars / Royal High School), Billy McNeil (Hawick Albion / Hawick HS), William Richardson (Merchiston Castle School), Paul Cunningham (Haddington / Knox Academy), Nathan Brown (Stewart’s Melville College), Callum Hoffie (George Watson’s College), Jack Blain (Stewart’s Melville College).

Scotland Blues: Murray Godsman (Glasgow Hawks / High School of Glasgow); Jordan Miller (Caithness / Thurso HS), Rafe Houston (Glenalmond College), Matthew Kindness (Kelso / Kelso HS), Jacob Henry (Ross Sutherland / Dingwall Academy); Angus Vipond (Stirling County / Queen Anne HS), Spencer Cope (Douglas / King William College); Chris Lynas (St Aloysius College), Stewart Ferguson (West of Scotland / High School of Glasgow), Scott Bell (Glasgow Hawks / Braidhurst HS), Cameron Henderson (Perthshire / Strathallan School), Kieran Watt (GHA / Merchiston Castle School), Rory Burnside (Ross Sutherland / Alness Academy), Edward Leatherbarrow (Lymm RFC / King’s Macclesfield), Gavin Wilson (Dumfries Saints / Wallace Hall Academy).

Replacements: Scott Cleland (Ayr / Prestwick Academy), Mak Wilson (Duns / Eyemouth HS), Gregor Mitchell (North Berwick / North Berwick HS), Jamie Brennan (Glasgow Hawks / The Glasgow Academy), Ross Milne (Carnoustie / Lathallan School), Luhann Kotze (Biggar), Jack Peter (Tynedale / Royal Grammar School), Alexander Begg (Mackie / Mackie Academy), Finlay Laird (Perthshire / Strathallan), Ollie Smith (Ayr / Prestwick Academy), Jamie Lumsden (Livingston / James Young HS).

About David Barnes 3821 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.