Sevens season kicks-off at Gala on Sunday

Watsonians were last year's Gala Sevens champions

Gala sevens
Watsonians were last year's Gala Sevens champions Image courtesy: Gala RFC

THE Spring Sevens season gets going this Easter Sunday, with Gala hosting the Kings of the 7s curtain-raiser at Netherdale. There are 12 teams taking part, playing in four pools of three, with the top side in each section progressing to the semi-final. The first match, between Melrose and Edinburgh Academicals, kicks-off at 2pm.


Pool 1 –

Melrose: R Campbell, C Fairbarn, B Mclean, S Hutchison, T Klein, M Klein, A Hall, L Mallin, I Ligaiviu, G McWilliam.

Edinburgh Accies: A Inwood, C Imrie, A Wood, S Johnson, W Stephen, C Ramm, J Pecqueur, S Kirby, T Brown, A Cowan.

Powerbombs: TBC

Pool 2 –

Gala: S Cairns, R Irvine, M Faught, J Turnbull, G Hunter, G Speirs, C Jordaan, D Nicholson, R Jeffrey, R Tod.

Peebles: R Guiney, R Brittan, K Brown, D Wills, M Johnston, M Brown, S Stoddart, R Maciver, R (Richard) Harrison, R (Robert) Harrison.

Kelso: T Wichary, K Wilson, A Thomson, A Skeen, P Hume, M Kindness, M Wilson, A Tait, C Gillon, S Hunter, M Oliver, A Scott-Watson.

Pool 3 –

Jed-Forest: G Young, D Gillespie, S Goodfellow, R Marshall, R Yourston, L Young, C Young, A Sanders, R Shirra-Gibb, E Scott.

Heriot’s: C Marshall, A Johnston, D Crawford, N Stingl, D Martin, R Jones, C Simpson, J Semple, J Rae, I Kay.

Selkirk: R Nixon, S Hamilton, K White, A McColm, F Anderson, R Banks, G Ross, S Nixon, N Hall, M Gordon.

Pool 4 –

Watsonians: C Borthwick, E Miller, M Fedo, A Harris, A Davidson, R Steele, S McKean, W Thomson, E Fox, M Bartram.

Boroughmuir: C Keddie, M Walker, J Edmunds, J Adams, E McKirdy, R Kerr, G McConnell, G Welsh, M Hare, A Mncube.

Hawick: D Buckley, L Ferguson, G Munro, M Tait, A Baillie, G (Glen) Welsh, G (Gareth) Welsh, K Ford, R McLean, D Robson.


2:00pm: Melrose v Edinburgh Accies (Pool 1)

2.17pm: Gala v Kelso (Pool 2)

2.34pm: Jed-Forest v Heriot’s (Pool 3)

2:51pm: Watsonians v Boroughmuir (Pool 4)

3.08pm: Melrose v Powerbombs (Pool 1)

3.25pm: Gala v Peebles (Pool 2)

3.42pm: Jed-Forest v Selkirk (Pool 3)

3.59pm: Watsonians v Hawick (Pool 4)

4.16pm: Powerbombs v Edinburgh Accies (Pool 1)

4.33pm: Peebles v Kelso (Pool 2)

4.50pm: Heriot’s v Selkirk (Pool 3)

5.07pm: Hawick v Boroughmuir (Pool 4)


5.25pm: semi-final between Pool 1 winners v Pool 2 winners

5.42pm: semi-final between Pool 3 winners v Pool 4 winners


6.50pm: The Final

Super 6: Franchise applications close with 12 clubs in contention


About David Barnes 4026 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.