Scott Forrest named head coach of GB Women’s sevens for Olympic Games

Former national captain "honoured and privileged" to be appointed

Scott Forrest
Scott Forrest will take charge of the GB women's sevens squad at next year's Tokyo Olympics. Image: SRU.

SCOTT Forrest, the head coach of the Scotland Women’s Sevens team, has been appointed to the same position with the Great Britain women’s team that will compete in next year’s Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Originally from Rutherglen, Forrest had extensive experience of playing the abbreviated game before turning to coaching, and was Scotland captain for four seasons, a period which included the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. He was also in charge of Scotland when they came second at the Women’s World Rugby Sevens Series qualifier in Hong Kong earlier this year, and was assistant coach of the full Scotland women’s side last season as well as coaching the men’s sevens squad.

“I am incredibly honoured and privileged to be appointed as head coach of the GB Sevens team,” Forrest said yesterday. “Everyone’s ambition as a sports person is to be involved in an Olympic Games and I’m excited about the challenge that lies ahead.

“Having been involved coaching Scotland Women Sevens since 2012 and having the experience of coaching the men’s sevens on last season’s World Series, I am looking forward to developing my coaching practice further over the next year. I am excited about working with players and staff from across the three unions to get the team ready to be successful in Tokyo next year. There is some exciting talent within all of the home nations who have experience of playing international sevens, which will be vitally important for selecting the best team possible.”

England’s Simon Amor of England has been named head coach of the GB men’s seven for the Olympics.

Super 6 sides all announce their full 35-man squads

About Stuart Bathgate 1428 Articles
Stuart has been the rugby correspondent for both The Scotsman and The Herald, and was also The Scotsman’s chief sports writer for 14 years from 2000.