Scotland Women training squad announced ahead of Spain clash

Scotland celebrate a try against Wales.
Scotland celebrate a try against Wales. Image: ©INPHO/Craig Watson -

SHADE MUNRO has named an extended 25-player squad ahead of Scotland Women’s Six Nations warm-up match against Spain on Sunday. All four of the nation’s professional players – French based Jade Konkel, Chloe Rollie and Lisa Thomson, plus home-based Sarah Law – are involved, and the side will once again be captained by Lisa Martin, who recently signed for English top-flight outfit DMP Sharks.

“We’ve played a number of important fixtures against Spain over the past few years, most notably the World Cup Qualification match which we narrowly lost in November 2016. So, we are very much looking forward to taking them on once more,” said Munro.

“This is also a great fixture to have leading into the Six Nations as we aim to carry through the momentum from the Autumn. It will provide the players with the opportunity to cement their place in the squad as we approach our opener away to Wales.”

“Spain, who are ranked above us, will be much changed, and as a result much stronger, than the team we faced in Madrid so we will have to be at our very best if we are to come out on top.”
Tickets for Scotland v Spain and Scotland Women’s Six Nations home fixtures against France and England are available at


Scotland Women’s extended training squad ahead of playing Spain at Scotstoun Stadium on Sunday 21st January – kick-off 1pm –

Forwards: Sarah Bonar (Loughbourgh Lightening), Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County / Stirling University), Megan Kennedy* (Stirling County), Jade Konkel** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois), Mags Lowish (Loughbourgh Lightening), Rachel Malcolm (Loughbourgh Lightening), Deborah McCormack (Harlequins), Louise McMillian* (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Siobhan McMillan (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Jodie Rettie (Thurrock), Lana Skeldon (Watsonians), Lindsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Emma Wassell* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Backs: Mhairi Grieve (Firwood Waterloo), Lauren Harris* (Edinburgh University), Sarah Law** (Edinburgh University/Murrayfield Wanderers), Rhona Lloyd* (Edinburgh University), Lisa Martin* (DMP Sharks), Jenny Maxwell (Loughbourgh Lightening), Liz Musgrove (Edinburgh University), Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers), Chloe Rollie (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois), Eilidh Sinclair* (Murrayfield Wanderers), Hannah Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill), Lisa Thomson** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois),

* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Supported Player 2017/18

** BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 Player 2017/18

About David Barnes 4030 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.