Scotland Under-16s squads announced for Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival

Scrummage practice at the recent Scotland U16 Training Camp at Burnbrae
Scrummage practice at the recent Scotland U16 Training Camp at Burnbrae ***Image courtesy: Scottish Rugby***

THREE Scotland Under-16 squads – the Blues, the Reds and the Greens – have been named ahead of the Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival, which kicks off this Sunday (1st April). The six-day tournament will allow the young Scots to go head-to-head against Welsh sides Cardiff Blues, Ospreys and RGC, plus English side The Lambs.

The squads have prepared for the festival with a series of training days and camps, following internal matches and a fixture against Newcastle Falcons. The Blues (coached by former Scotland centre Graham Shiel) and the Reds (coached by Bryan Easson) have been selected from 50 home based players, while the Greens (coached by David Wilson) is made up from Exiles.

Following these games, players will be selected to attend a two-week training camp in Valladolid in Spain over the summer.

Scotland U16 Blues –


Owen Brown (Dunfermline High School / Dunfermline)

Tim Brown (Lathallan School / Montrose)

Eoin Cameron (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks)

Rory Cockburn (Dumfries Academy / Dumfries Saints)

Callum Hunter (Falkirk High School / Stirling County)

Thomas McGuire (St Aloysius College / Garnock)

Finlay Overend (Williamwood High School / GHA)

John Paterson (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks)

George Ratcliff (Strathallan School / Howe of Fife)

Robbie Renwick (Jordanhill School / Glasgow Hawks)

Alex Samuel (St Leonards School / Madras)

Dougal Sands (Dollar Academy)

Charles Wall (Forres Academy / Highland)

Max Williamson (Dollar Academy)


Toby Adamson (Glenalmond College)

Luke Armstrong (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks)

Euan Cunningham (Stirling High School / Stirling County)

Oscar Del Priore (Hermitage Academy / Cartha Queens Park)

Angus Fraser (Aboyne Academy / Deeside)

Michael Gray (Dollar Academy / Stirling County)

Ross McKnight (Dollar Academy)

Cameron Paterson (Strathallan School / Marr)

Gabriel Smith (St Leonards School/ Howe of Fife)

Finlay Troup (Robert Gordon’s College)

Peter Wallwork (Strathallan School)

Scotland U16 Reds –


Callum Anderson (George Heriot’s School)

Tom Banatvala (Fettes College)

Archie Bogle (Eyemouth High School / Duns)

Alex Geddes (Merchiston Castle School)

Ewan Henderson (Royal High School)

Nick Henderson (Earlston High School / Melrose)

Duncan Hood (Stewart’s Melville College)

James Lascelles (Merchiston Castle School)

Fraser McAslan (Royal High School/Currie)

David Murphy-Clark (Hawick High School / Hawick)

Gregor Scougall (George Watson’s College / Currie)

Hector Skipworth (Merchiston Castle School)

Archie Watters (George Watson’s College)


Aidan Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College)

Roly Brett (Earlston High School / Melrose)

Daniel Brown (George Watson’s College)

Keiran Clark (Earlston High School / Melrose)

Angus Cousin (George Watson’s College)

Ryan Daley (George Watson’s College / Currie)

Ben Grainger (Royal High School)

Angus Hoffie (George Watson’s College)

James Kemp (Kelvinside Academy / Glasgow Hawks)

Cameron Scott (Preston Lodge High School / Preston Lodge)

Jamie Thompson (Stewart’s Melville College)

Christian Townsend (Earlston High School / Melrose)

Scotland U16 Greens –


Andrew Curtis (Wollaston School)

Olly Frostick (William de Ferrers School / Northampton Saints)

Hamish Janaway (Lord Wandsworth / London Irish)

Bailey Albert (Bishop Stortford High School)

Iain Carmichael (Sedburgh / Newcastle Falcons)

Will Harding (Salesian College)

Innes Hill (Stokesley School / Newcastle Falcons)

James Loraine (Bilton School / Wasps)

Charlie Christie (Harrow School)

Matthew Deehan (RGS Newcastle / Newcastle Falcons)

Henry Mair (Wisbech Grammar)

Matthew O’Connor (Lawrence Sherriff School / Wasps)


Jonty Cope (Kirkham Grammar School)

Jack Sykes (Radley College)

Scott Masson (Royal Grammar School High Wycombe)

Alexander Leung (Harrow School / London Irish)

Max Lindsey (British School of Paris / Racing 92)

Cameron Ritchie (Bromsgrove School / Wasps)

Markuss Boyd (Queen Elizabeth School Kirby Lonsdale / Newcastle Falcons)

Dylan Evans (Millfield School)

Robin McClintock (Lycee Notre Dame / Lyon Olympique)

James Aikman (Royal Grammar School Worcester)

Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival Fixtures –


Sunday 1st April

12 noon: RGC v Scotland Green @ Parc Eirias

2pm: Lambs v Scotland Red @ Parc Eirias


Monday 2nd April

3pm: Cardiff Blues (Dev) v Scotland Blue @ CSE Ystrad Mynach

5pm: Scarlets V Ospreys @ CSE Ystrad Mynach

7pm: Dragons v Blues @ CSE Ystrad Mynach


Wednesday 4th April

12 noon: RGC v Scotland Blue @ Parc Eirias

2pm: Lambs v Scotland Green @ Parc Eirias

3pm: Ospreys (Dev) v Scotland Red @ The Gnoll (Neath RFC)


Friday 6th April

5.30pm Scarlets v Cardiff Blues @ St Helens (Swansea RFC)

7.15pm Ospreys v Dragons @ St Helens (Swansea RFC)


Sunday 8th April

12 noon: RGC v Scotland Red @ Parc Eirias

2pm: Lambs v Scotland Blue @ Parc Eirias


Wednesday 11th April

TBC -Blues v Ospreys @ Parc y Scarlets

TBC – Dragons v Scarlets @ Parc y Scarlets

About David Barnes 3956 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.


  1. 5 of our Hawks boys and should’ve been 6 but 1 injured…unfortunately SRU rules stopped them competing as a team in the Scottish Cup. Wonder how they would’ve fared given the chance…

Comments are closed.