Scotland Under-16 squads named for Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival

19/03/17 - 17031901 - SRU BURNBRAE - MILNGAVIE The Scotland U16 Training Camp.

THE SCOTLAND UNDER-16s squads for next week’s 2017 Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival in Wales (Thursday 6 to Wednesday 12 April) have been named.


The six-day festival will take place at Parc Eirias, where 50 young Scottish players, split into two teams – the Reds and the Blues – will play fixtures against Welsh sides: Dragons, Scarlets and RGC.

“We’re very excited about this group of players. They have worked hard on and off the field to prepare for this festival and know it is a huge privilege to represent Scotland at this level,” said Bryan Easson, the head coach of the Reds side

“The players have stepped up their work ethic and have shown a professional attitude during our recent training camps. Selecting 50 players at this stage highlights the abundance of talent we have in Scotland and that the future of Scottish rugby is in safe hands,” added Steve Lawrie, head coach of the Blues team.

The Scotland U16 festival fixtures are as follows –

Saturday 8 April –

Scotland U16 Blues v Dragons, kick-off 5pm
Scotland U16 Reds v RGC, kick-off 7pm

Tuesday 11 April –
Scotland U16 Blues v RGC, kick-off 12.30pm
Scotland U16 Reds v Scarlets, kick-off 2.30pm

Scotland U16 Reds squad –

Eck Allan (North Berwick High School / North Berwick)
Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School)
Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School)
Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School)
Nathanael Fagerson (Sherborne School / Bath)
Jake Fairley (Earlston High School / Melrose)
Dan Gamble (Merchiston High School / Kelso)
Alex Harley (George Watson’s College)
Will Harper (Marchiston Castle School)
Angus Haswell (Caistor Grammar School / Leicester Tigers)
Andrew Hoggarth (Clifton Hall School / Currie)
Fergus Johnstone (Galashiels Academy / Gala)
Scott King (Preston Lodge High School / Preston Lodge)
Angus MacDonald (Warwick School)
Finlay McNeill (Stewart’s Melville College)
Ethan McVicker (Boroughmuir)
Nathan Moffat (Stewart’s Melville College)
Harri Morris (George Watson’s College)
Ben Muncaster (Rugby School / North Berwick)
Harry Paterson (Fettes College)
Addy Robertson (Stewart’s Melville College)
Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir)
Benjamin Slessor (Trent College / Leicester Tigers)
Jamie Stephen (George Watson’s College)
Struan Whittaker (Trinity Academy / BATS)

Scotland U16 Blues –

Luca Alessandri (Kings Park Secondary School / Cartha Queens Park)
George Breese (Glenalmond College)
Callum Brown (Gryffe High School / Bishopton)
Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy / Ayr)
Greg Clunas (Howe of Fife)
Jamie Cruickshank (Stirling County)
Jamie Drummond (Auchenleck Academy / Cumnock)
Mathew Fletcher (St Andrews & St Brides High School / East Kilbride)
Cameron Furley (St Albans Boys School / Saracens)
Andrew Hughes (St Aloysius’ College / GHA)
Rory Jackson (Park Mains School / Bishopton)
Finlay Lennox (Robert Gordon’s College)
Finn Livingstone-Learmouth (Wellington College)
Alex Marsh (Strathallan School)
Nick McAllister (St Aloysius’ College)
Finn McIlwraith (Dollar Academy)
Harry Mercer (St Leonards)
Brandon Mills (Glenwood High School / Glenrothes)
Thomas Ryan (Robert Gordon’s College)
Adam Scott (St Aloysius’ College)
Keir Singleton (Balfron High School / Strathendrick)
Archie Smeaton (Beverley Grammar School / Yorkshire Carnegie)
Mungo Somerville (Waid Academy)
Joseph Strain (Castle Douglas High School / Stewartry)
Colin Taylor (The Glasgow Academy / Glasgow Hawks)

Image courtesy: Scottish Rugby/SNS Group

About David Barnes 4011 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.