Pro player draft revealed

Glasgow Warriors and Scotland stand-off Finn Russell was watched by Gregor Townsend when he made his comeback from injury with Ayr last season. Image: Fotosport/David Gibson -

THE BT Premiership’s pro player draft for the 2017-18 season has been unveiled, with 98 squad members from Edinburgh Rugby, Glasgow Warriors and the Scotland 7s set-up being allocated to the country’s top ten domestic clubs.

Players will be made available to BT Premiership clubs each week, dependent on the selection of pro team squads.

“The pro-player draft provides a platform for integration between the BT Premiership and the professional game and opportunities for our developing and established professional players,” said Stephen Gemmell, Scottish Rugby Head of Academy and Performance Programmes.

“Scotland’s premier club competition provides a competitive environment and the drafting of professional players from Edinburgh Rugby, Glasgow Warriors and Scotland 7s helps to bridge the gap between the top tier of the club game and professional rugby.”

BT Premiership pro-player draft

Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors), Brandon Thomson (Glasgow Warriors), Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors), Robbie Ferguson (Scotland 7s), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)

Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh Rugby), Fraser McKenzie (Edinburgh Rugby), Nathan Fowles (Edinburgh Rugby), Robbie Fruean (Edinburgh Rugby), Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby), Sean Kennedy (Edinburgh Rugby), Mark Bennett (Edinburgh Rugby), Duncan Weir (Edinburgh Rugby), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick McLennan (Scotland 7s), WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby)

Currie Chieftains
Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Richard Vernon (Glasgow Warriors), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Leonardo Sarto (Glasgow Warriors), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)

Glasgow Hawks
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Patrick Kelly (Glasgow Warriors), Kiran McDonald (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Smith (Glasgow Warriors), Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Brian Alainu’uese (Glasgow Warriors), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors)

Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby), Hugh Fraser (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Viliama Mata (Edinburgh Rugby), Duhan Van Der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh Rugby), Jason Tovey (Edinburgh Rugby), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby), James Fleming (Scotland 7s), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby)

Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby), Tom Galbraith (Edinburgh Rugby), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Anton Bresler (Edinburgh Rugby), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby), James Johnstone (Scotland 7s), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Scott Riddell (Scotland 7s)

Stirling County
Lewis Wynne (Glasgow Warriors), Callum Hunter-Hill (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors), Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors), Callum Gibbins (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

Junior Rasolea (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Dean (Edinburgh Rugby), Glenn Bryce (Edinburgh Rugby), Jason Harries (Edinburgh Rugby), Neil Cochrane (Edinburgh Rugby), Darryl Marfo (Edinburgh Rugby), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), Dougie Fife (Scotland 7s), Jamie Farndale (Scotland 7s), Jack Cuthbert (Scotland 7s)

D’Arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), Greg Peterson (Glasgow Warriors), James Malcolm (Glasgow Warriors), Gavin Lowe (Scotland 7s), Samuela Vunisa (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors), Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors), Siosiua Halanukonuka (Glasgow Warriors), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Lelia Masaga (Glasgow Warriors)

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby), Kevin Bryce (Edinburgh Rugby), Tom Brown (Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh Rugby), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby), Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby), Joseva Nayacavou (Scotland 7s), John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby), Hugh Blake (Scotland 7s), Phil Burleigh (Edinburgh Rugby)

About David Barnes 3801 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.