Premiership Team-of-the-Week for Round 11

Hawick, Kelso and Musselburgh dominate selection after solid wins in crucial matches

Callum Anderson's last minute try secured an important win for Selkirk against Glasgow Hawks. Image: Grant Kinghorn
Callum Anderson's last minute try secured an important win for Selkirk against Glasgow Hawks. Image: Grant Kinghorn

ARCHIE BARBOUR continued to impress at full-back for Kelso and is once again hugely unlucky to miss out on selection in this team (seven weeks after his only Dream Team appearance to date), as is Currie Chieftains try-scorer Sam Leto, but Callum Anderson was a key counter-attacking threat, from boot and on the hoof, and scored the  match-winning try for Selkirk in final seconds of the Borderers’ match against Glasgow Hawks.

Despite Heriots’ home loss to Kelso, Paul Christie had a fine game, scoring a try and it could have been a hat-trick, sit he wears 14, while Sandy Watt maybe didn’t add to his scoring tally of 10 so far for the season but once again demonstrated himself to be a pacy and elusive runner who will make yards for Musselburgh so is handed the No 11 jersey.

While it was a generally frustrating afternoon for Hawick’s backs against Marr, Andrew Mitchell took his try well and was generally solid as the Greens saw off their nearest challengers at the summit of the Premiership table, so he is named at outside-centre. His partner in crime in the Mansfield side’s midfield, Lee Armstrong, looked dangerous every time he got the ball in the first half, but apart from setting up Mitchell’s try, he struggled to find the killer pass, so misses out on selection on this occasion to Kelso’s never-say-die skipper Frankie Robson.

2023 Super Series Championship: Semi-Finals Dream Team

Monaco Impis to defend Melrose Sevens title in 2024

2023-24 Premiership Leaderboard – for weekending 12th November

Colin Sturgeon kicked his goals and made the most of meagre scraps of possession to keep Marr in the contest at Mansfield so he wears No 10, while Currie Chieftains’ late call-up and man-of-the-match Paddy Boyer is at scrum-half, with his sharp breaks, speed of pass and awareness of attacking opportunities giving Chieftains real go-forward in a comfortable win at Jed. The lively James Imrie, who dotted down twice for Glasgow Hawks against Selkirk, is unlucky to miss out.

In the pack, Cole Imrie scored twice for Edinburgh Accies in their narrow loss at Musselburgh, but loses out to Dream Team regular Shawn Muir, who scored Hawick’s decisive try against Marr and was his usual irrepressible self in the loose as well as being a key cog in a dominant scrum. With that in mind, fellow Hawick man Nicky Little was a very strong contender at tight-head, but Terry Logan edges it after scoring his team’s opening try, carrying relentlessly and scrummaging well as Kelso picked up their first away win since returning to the Premiership at the start of this season. Jed try-scorer Harvey Keith misses our Fraser McAslan of Edinburgh Accies at hooker.

Connor Sutherland was immense in the second-row for Hawick so was the first name on this team-sheet and he partners up in the engine-room with the mobile and hard-working Courtney West of Currie Chieftains.

Malachy Keough‘s tireless effort on both sides of the ball, which earned him the TOL’s man-of-the-match award, meant he was a strong contender made a strong case for selection at blindside flanker, but he loses out to the inspirational Michael Maltman of Musselburgh, while Stoneyhill team-mate Michael Badenhorst is at No 8 who impressed in both attack and defence, scoring a try for good measure. Scott McClymont also scored and led from the front in a gritty battle at the pit-face as Selkirk earned a valuable win at home to Hawks so he retains the No 7 jersey.



15. Callum Anderson (Selkirk)


14. Paul Christie (Heriot’s Blues)

13. Andrew Mitchell (Hawick)

12. Frankie Robson (Kelso)

11. Sandy Watt (Musselburgh)


10. Colin Sturgeon (Marr)

9. Paddy Boyer (Currie Chieftains)


1. Shawn Muir (Hawick)

2. Fraser McAslan (Edinurgh Accies)

3. Terry Logan (Kelso)

4. Courtney West (Currie Chieftains)

5. Connor Sutherland (Hawick)

6. Michael Maltman (Musselburgh)

7. Scott McClymont (Selkirk)

8. Michael Badenhorst (Musselburgh)

2023 Super Series Championship: Semi-Finals Dream Team

About David Barnes 3821 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.