Site icon The Offside Line

Premiership Dream Team for weekend of 27th August

Vincent Hart of Edinburgh Accies is selected at stand-off. Image: John Wright

Vincent Hart of Edinburgh Accies is selected at stand-off. Image: John Wright

JAMES FERGUSON impressed at full-back as Musselburgh produces a spirited but ultimately fruitless performance in their tough season opener away to champions Marr, and he is joined in the back three by hat-trick hero Kody McGovern of Currie Chieftains and Ross Darroch of Glasgow Hawks, who took his try well against Heriot’s Blues.

Matthew Stewart was a real leader in the middle of the park for Hawks so is given the No 13 jersey this week ahead of Ryan Cottrell of Selkirk and Robbie Kent of Edinburgh Accies, while Greg Cannie was outstanding for Chieftains at No12 which puts him ahead of Kirk Ford of Hawick.

Vincent Hart started at inside-centre for Edinburgh Accies but moved to stand-off on seven minutes after Jamie Loomes suffered an injury to steer his side to a comprehensive home victory over GHA so edges out Jamie Forbes of Currie Chieftains, while Grant Baird‘s slick service for Marr sees him get the nod at scrum-half just ahead of Hawks’ Eric Davey.

Stafford McDowall on being ‘liberated” by Franco Smith

Versatile Nick Auterac reveals ambitious post-rugby plans

Super6 round four: TOL team of the week

Up front, Grant Paxton has a big role in Jed-Forest’s scrum putting Chieftains under serious pressure so is at loose-head ahead of Marr’s Gordie Reid and Hawick’s Shawn Muir, Paul Cairncross of Glasgow Hawks took his try well in a solid all-round performance so is at hooker, and Zenon Szwagrzak of Selkirk is tight-head.

Ewan Stewart‘s work-rate and ball-handling for Currie Chieftains sees him link up with the ‘immense’ Fraser Grant of Marr in the second-row, with honourable mentions going to Dalton Redpath of Hawick, James Head of Selkirk and 17-year-old Euan McVie of Edinburgh Accies, who continues to produce performances which exhibit maturity beyond his years.

There is another Fullarton favourite in the shape of two-try Blair Jardine at blindside flanker. Matt Walker of Edinburgh Accies saw off stiff opposition from Sam Wallace of Heriot’s and Lewis Stewart of Glasgow Hawks at openside, while Jae Linton of Hawick edges out Monroe Job of Selkirk for the No 8 slot.


15. James Ferguson (Musselburgh)


14. Kody McGovern (Currie Chieftains)

13. Matthew Stewart (Glasgow Hawks)

12. Greg Cannie (Currie Chieftains)

11. Ross Darroch (Glasgow Hawks)


10. Vincent Hart (Edinburgh Accies)

9. Grant Baird (Marr)


1. Grant Paxton (Jed-Forest)

2. Paul Cairncross (Glasgow Hawks)

3. Zenon Szwagrzak (Selkirk)

4. Ewan Stewart (Currie Chieftains)

5. Fraser Grant (Marr)

6. Blair Jardine (Marr)

7. Matt Walker (Edinburgh Accies)

8. Jae Linton (Hawick)

Super6 round four: TOL team of the week

Exit mobile version