Premiership dream team – for 27th November 2021

Big representations for Aberdeen Grammar, Jed-Forrest and Musselburgh after superb wins at the weekend

Danny Owenson is selected in this week's Premiership Dream Team for his commanding performance for Musselburgh against Selkirk. Image: John Durham
Danny Owenson is selected in this week's Premiership Dream Team for his commanding performance for Musselburgh against Selkirk. Image: John Durham

RORY HINDAUGH was dangerous on the counter-attack and a solid last line of defence for Musselburgh, so is selected at full-back for this week’s Premiership Dream Team. It is tough on his Stoneyhill team-mate, Sandy Watt, who scored a hat-trick against Selkirk, but he misses out on the No14 jersey to James McCaig, who grabbed a brace for Currie Chieftains in their top of the table victory over Marr. On the opposite wing is Thomas Glendinning as reward for hanging in there to get a consolation try for Glasgow Hawks on a cold and disappointing afternoon at Rubislaw.

Scott Bickerstaff led the fightback and scored an excellent try which secured a bonus point for Marr at Fullarton so is at outside centre, while Andrew Mitchell scored twice and was a stand-out for Hawick in their big home win over GHA.

Stand-off this week is Cammy Scott, who made sure Aberdeen Grammar played the game in the right places, as the Rubislaw men finally picked up their first win of the season against Glasgow Hawks. Meanwhile, Danny Owenson bossed the game superbly as Musselburgh broke their recent losing streak so is selected at scrum-half despite a rare off day from the kicking tee, just ahead of Gareth Welsh of Hawick.

Lee Jones returns to active service as part of Scotland Sevens squad

Premiership leaderboard for weekending 28th November

Melrose Sevens to return with four day event at start of April

Any one of the Jed front-row, or indeed all three together, could have been selected for this week’s Dream Team. However. Shawn Muir‘s superb two-try performance at loose-head for Hawick and Matthias Schosser‘s big-hitting contribution at hooker for Aberdeen Grammar see them get the nod ahead of Gregor Paxton and Finlay Scott, leaving Paulo Ferriera as the only member of that Riverside triumvirate to make the side. Blair Jardine, Marr’s hard-carrying hooker, was also unlucky to miss out

20-year-old Hamish Ferguson was physically dominant both sides of the ball, and it could easily have been an all Currie Chieftains second-row with Rhys Davies once again superb, but on this occasion he misses out to the hard-carrying Kieran Watt of Musselburgh.

The return of Darren Gillespie gave the Jed back-row a real hard-edge at blindside flanker, and he has try-scoring team-mate Craig Cowan for company in the back-row at No8. Ben Inglis was outstanding in every facet of the game for Aberdeen Grammar at openside, so gets the nod ahead of several strong candidates for the No7 jersey, including Fergus Scott of Chieftains, Stuart Graham of Hawick, Matt Crawford of Musselburgh and Jamie Drummond of Marr.


Season Appeal 2022 - 2023

We hope you are enjoying our unrivalled coverage of Scottish Rugby. While mainstream media continues to reduce its interest in the rugby family in Scotland, The Offside Line does its very best to make sure all levels of the domestic game are reported.

Our commitment to the game and sharing its stories means that we do not have a paywall, so we would ask you (only if you can!) to support The Offside Line, either with a one off donation, or with a monthly contribution.

We have been keeping Scottish rugby in the news since 2016 and will have 3 million page views this year, making The Offside Line first for Scottish rugby.



15. Rory Hindhaugh (Musselburgh)


14. James McCaig (Currie Chieftains)

13. Scott Bickerstaff (Marr)

12. Andrew Mitchell (Hawick)

11.  Thomas Glendinning (Glasgow Hawks)


10.  Cammy Scott (Aberdeen Grammar)

9. Danny Owenson (Musselburgh)


1. Shawn Muir (Hawick)

2. Matthias Schosser (Aberdeen Grammar)

3. Paulo Ferriera (Jed-Forest)

4.  Hamish Ferguson (Currie Chieftains)

5.  Kieran Watt (Musselburgh)

6. Darren Gillespie (Jed-Forest)

7. Ben Inglis (Aberdeen Grammar)

8. Craig Cowan (Jed-Forest)

Lee Jones returns to active service as part of Scotland Sevens squad

About David Barnes 3263 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.