Premiership Dream Team – for 11th December 2021

The final selection of 2021 sees Jed, Hawick and Currie Chieftains all contributing three players, while there is two each from Edinburgh Accies and Marr

Jamie Forbes of Currie Chieftains scoured a hat-trick against Selkirk. Image: Ian Gidney
Jamie Forbes of Currie Chieftains scoured a hat-trick against Selkirk. Image: Ian Gidney

CHARLIE BRETT was dangerous every time he got on the ball for Currie Chieftains in their comfortable win over Selkirk so claims the No 15 jersey, ahead of the ‘slippery’ Grant Mollison of GHA and the marauding Lewis Young of Jed-Forest.

Left-wing Jamie Forbes is the second Chieftain in the back-three after his hat-trick inside 14 minutes, while Scott Bickerstaff‘s second half contribution from the right-wing was key to Marr sealing a bonus point win at home to GHA.

Joe Reynolds – also of Chieftains – played well and had one particularly monstrous hit to claim the outside-centre slot, while a powerful performance in the middle of the park by Dom Buckley of Jed-Forest sees him named at inside-centre, ahead of Neil Armstrong of Edinburgh Accies.

Premiership leaderboard for weekending 12th December

Glasgow v Exeter: Al Kellock asks visiting fans to respect Warriors’ position on Native American imagery

Bruce Ruthven appointed Southern Knights head coach

Kirk Ford‘s vision and skill created all three of his side’s tries and he also supplied the Hawick’s’ winning penalty goal as well as all three conversions so gets the nod at stand-off, while Ethan McVicar edges in at scrum-half ahead of opposite number Ryan Southern on a generally disappointing day for Selkirk at Malleny Park.

Up front, it was a fair old battle between Hawick and Edinburgh Accies at Mansfield Park, so Shawn Muir of the hosts is at loose-head, while visiting two-try tight-head Clem Lacour and Ryan Montgomery, playing out of position at hooker, are also selected in the front-row.

There was plenty of strong candidates for the second-row berths, including: Finlay Simpson and Jake Mills of Edinburgh Accies, Clark Skeldon of Jed-Forest and Hamish Ferguson of Currie Chieftains, but on this occasion select goes to Shaun Fairbairn of Hawick and Gregor Law of Jed-Forest.

Rory Jackson of Marr is at blindside, Darren Gillespie of Jed-Forest is at open-side following two tries in what is rumoured to be his final match before retirement, and Jack Bruce of GHA edges out opposite numbers Stuart Graham of Hawick and Ru Campbell of Edinburgh Accies at No8.


15. Charlie Brett (Currie Chieftains)


14. Scott Bickerstaff (Marr)

13. Joe Reynolds (Currie Chieftains)

12. Dom Buckley (Jed-Forest)

11. Jamie Forbes (Currie Chieftains)


10.  Kirk Ford (Hawick)

9. Ethan McVicar (Selkirk)


1. Shawn Muir (Hawick)

2. Ryan Montgomery (Edinburgh Accies)

3. Clem Lacour (Edinburgh Accies)

4. Shaun Fairbairn (Hawick)

5. Gregor Law (Jed-Forest)

6. Rory Jackson (Marr)

7. Darren Gillespie (Jed-Forest)

8. Jack Bruce (GHA)

Bruce Ruthven appointed Southern Knights head coach

About David Barnes 4031 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.


  1. What are the rules around Super 6 players being allowed to ‘play down’? Looks like Currie for one have benefitted quite a lot since the end of that tournament. But why do Marr not get some players?

  2. I reckon this may be the oldest Team of the Week this season. At least half of them over 30! #Nosubstituteforexperience #youdontwinanythingwithkids #whenthegoinggetstoughthekidsgoskiing


Comments are closed.