Premiership Dream Team – 15th February 2020

A familiar face in Fergus Scott is at hooker this week. Image: Fraser Gaffney
A familiar face in Fergus Scott is at hooker this week. Image: Fraser Gaffney

ONLY three games and some pretty horrific conditions this week, means there wasn’t a huge amount of free-flowing rugby to base this section on, but Currie Chieftains full-back Fraser Sayers, Jed-Forest winger Callum Young, Selkirk winger Callum McNeil and Aberdeen Grammar outside centre Murray Mitchell all found ways of opening the game up so make the line-up.

Tom Aplin would on almost any other occasion have claimed the No 12 jersey for his barnstorming 70-yard try plus some excellent goal-kicking in appalling conditions, but on this occasion Jed’s hat-trick hero Robbie Yourston – who was also deadly off the tee in a 29-point performance – gets the nod.

Freddie Roddick is at stand-off, and his Musselburgh team-mate Danny Owenson was very close to joining him at scrum-half after being named man-of-the-match in a swamp-fight at Stoneyhill, and if he had landed that audacious late penalty for the win then he probably would have made it, but it ended up shaving the post so Gregor Christie of Chieftains shades it on this occasion.

David Cherry signs new Edinburgh contract

Italy v Scotland: Mike Blair backs his team’s composure ahead of ‘must win’ clash

With club future settled, Peter Horne targets Scotland return

Calum Reddish‘s hard-work in defence for Aberdeen Grammar gets him the loose-head berth, while Jed’s Harry Meadows is at tight-head prop for a try-scoring man-of-the-match performance in his team’s big win over GHA, edging out fierce competition from Chieftains’ Reece Patterson. A familiar face in this team, Fergus Scott, is once again at hooker.

Paddy Brown of Musselburgh and Gregor Law of Jed-Forest are in the engine-room, while Michael Maltman is at blindside, Wallace Nelson of Currie Chieftains and Ewan MacDougall of Selkirk at No 8.

Tennent’s Premiership Leaderboard – after 15th February matches

Scotstoun to host Super6 Final, which will be shown live on BBC Scotland

With club future settled, Peter Horne targets Scotland return

15. Fraser Sayers (Currie Chieftains)


14. Callum Young (Jed-Forest)

13. Murray Mitchell (Aberdeen Grammar)

12. Robbie Yourston (Jed-Forest)

11. Callum McNeill (Selkirk)


10. Freddie Roddick (Musselburgh)

9. Gregor Christie (Currie Chieftains) 


1. Calum Reddish (Aberdeen Grammar)

2. Fergus Scott (Currie Chieftains)

3. Harry Meadows (Jed-Forest)

4. Paddy Brown (Musselburgh)

5. Gregor Law (Jed-Forest)

6. Michael Maltman (Musselburgh)

7. Wallace Nelson (Currie Chieftains)

8. Ewan MacDougall (Selkirk)

Musselburgh battle out a potentially valuable draw in the Stoneyhill mud

Aberdeen Grammar v Currie Chieftains: Storm Dennis meets its match at Rubislaw

Jed-Forest v GHA: hosts ease relegation fears whilst pushing visitors into danger-zone