New faces and old foes head to The Greenyards for Melrose Sevens

The Greenyards
Melrose Sevens at The Greenyards. Image: ©Fotosport/David Gibson

LONDON SCOTTISH, Stellenbosch University, USA Tigers and a British Army side containing a strong Pacific Island contingent lead the guest teams at the 129th Melrose Sevens this afternoon.

Stellenbosch will be looking for their third title after lifting the Ladies Cup in both 2004 and 2005. They are one of four university sides in the tournament this year, alongside Durham, Edinburgh and St Andrews.

The Tigers, a touring side set up in 2007 with the aim of giving up-and-coming players exposure to high level rugby across the globe, have been to Melrose twice before and this year are boosted by having former Scotland 7s captain and hometown boy Scott Wight within their ranks.

Edinburgh v Ulster: play-off hopes in balance after dispiriting loss

Dave Rennie keeps cards close to his chest on Aaron Cruden link

Rangi Jericevich column: There is hope on the horizon for club rugby in Scotland

London Scottish also have some international sevens pedigree at their disposal with current Scotland 7s squad members Scott Riddell and Josh Henderson, plus former Scotland 7s squad member Fraser Lyle, ready to help the Richmond side push for a first win at the tournament since 1965 (they have not played at The Greenyards since 1978).

Amongst the Scottish-based sides, last season’s Ladies Cup winners Watsonians are a good shout to be there or thereabouts again, as are host side Melrose, who were beaten finalists in both 2018 and 2017. And Edinburgh Accies are the form team having come out on top at Gala last weekend.

The Teams –

Boroughmuir: Rob Ure, Ronan Kerr, Greg Cannie, Tom Wilson, Archie Russell, Gavin Parker, Gavin Welsh, Matt Walker, Jack Hamilton, Johnny Matthews.

Currie Chieftains: Robbie Nelson, Thomas Gordon, Stevie Hamilton, Roan Frostwick, Gregor Hunter, Joey Hunter, Matthew Hooks, Ben Robbins, Ru Smith, Jamie Forbes.

Durham University: Myles Rawstron Rudd, Josh Wright, Tom Lewis, Jack Hedley, Matt Welsh, Saul Melvin Farr, Chris Johnston, Jamie Adamson, Jacon Collin, Charlie Spawforth.

Edinburgh University: Harry Ryan, Scot Burnside, Connor Keys, Archie Dunnill, Joe Stainer, Harry Wells, Harry Smith Harry Hitchens, Max Aitken.

Edinburgh Accies: Ruairi Campbell, Jamie Sole, Ronan Seydak, Max Love, Richard Mill, Robbie Chalmers, Robbie Kent, Neil Armstrong, Nick Stephen, Vincent Hart.

Gala: Liam Scott, Graham Speirs, Robbie Irvine, Lachlan Johnston, John Turnbull, Ross Cooke, Scott Wilkinson, John Frew, Keith Young, Fergus Johnstone.

GHA: Jackson Dailly, Cameron King, Ross Finlay, George Baird, Ben Addison, Grant Mollison, Scott Plumridge, Charlie Lonergan, Andrew Gillman, Adam Scott.

Glasgow Hawks: Leila Masaga, Erland Oag, Mark New, Kaleem Baretto, Liam Brims, James Couper, Ben Matawalu, Connor Holborn, Sandy Greig, Callum Harrison.

Hawick: Dalton Redpath, Stuart Graham, Jae Linton, Lewis Ferguson, Aaron Redpath, Andrew Mitchell, Logan Gordon Wooley, Grant Huggan, Deaglan Lightfoot, Ronan McKean.

Heriot’s: Jason Hill, Robert Kay, Martin Hughes, Alex Ball, Iain Kay, Scott Robeson, John Rae, Matt Arnold, Ed Churchill, Craig Robertson.

Stirling County: Scott Derrick, Calum Jardine, Logan Bonar, Logan Trotter, Bruce Sorbie, Ratu Tagive, Geroge Arnott, Ali Mackie, Jonny Hope, Andrew Goudie.

Jed-Forest: Robbie Yourston, Gregor Law, Gregor Young, Rory Marshall, Calum Young, Robbie Shirra-Gibb, Lewis Young, Monty Mitchell, Dan Wardrop, Jye McGough.

Kelso: Cammy Brown, Kev Dryden, Angus Roberts, Andy Tait, Phil Hume, Murray Hastie, Mark Wilson, Arran Jackson, Craig Bruce, Matt Kindness.

London Scottish: Fraser Lyle, Scott Riddell, Lewis Berg, Tom Walsh, Rob Parker, Josh Henderson, Ben Harris, Will Radford, Fergus Guiry, James Spencer.

Marr: Ross Miller, Richard Dalgleish, Ewan Bulger, Gregor Paxton, Conor Bickerstaff, Colin Sturgeon, Scott Bickerstaff, Fraser Grant, Angus Johnston, Jack Scott.

Melrose: Iain Moody, Gavin Wood, Grant Runciman, Struan Hutchison, Craig Jackson, Patrick Anderson, Iain Sim, Michael Mvelase-Julyan, Bruce Colvine, Rhuaridh Knott.

Peebles: Murray Brown, Murdo Anderson, Ruaridh Britton, James Dow, Donald Anderson, Scott Stoddart, Callum Anderson, Stuart Hunter, Cameron Thrawl, Gregor Nixon.

Selkirk: Josh McKay, Robert Clark, Ryan Cotterill, Conor Higgins, Henry Bethary, Ross Nixon, Fazel Anderson, Darren Clapperton, Ewan McDougal, Scott McClymont.

St Andrews University: Roland Walker, Alex Hodgins, Rob Lind, Kelvin Chen, Scott Docherty, Scott Macgregor, Fez Mughal, Michael Sutherland, Danny Clink, Sean Murchie.

Stellenbosch RFC: Iver Aanhuizen, Geor Malan, Hein Kritzinger, Morne Taljaard, George Lourens, Lynn-Jay Hendricks, Fred van Zyl, Dana Fourie, Malcolm Kayes, Nikki Ferreira.

USA Tigers: Harvey Higgins, Marcus Satavu, Rory Carroll, Joey Sok, Nick Chapman, Cody Melphy, Travion Clark, Scott Wight, Naima Fuala’an, Kavstev Leitnek.

Watsonians: Michael Fedo, Ian Miller, Charlie McKill, Ali Harris, Andrew Skeen, Rory Steele, Scott McKean, Chris Scott, Lee Miller, Ewan Fox.

British Army: Emosi Nadaubale, Ben Wray, Sikeli Matai, Ben Fulton, Isoa Matacagi, Sai Vunivesilevu, Harry Whittington, Rupeni Rokoduguni, Peceli Suguvanua.

Ayr: Euan Hamilton, Gregor Henry, Ollie Mossie, Cammy Black, Jack Rennie, Harry Lynch, Jonny Easton, Aquile Smith, James Pinkerton, Chris Easton.

About David Barnes 3963 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.