Leinster v Glasgow: Huw Jones named on bench for Dublin trip

Jamie Bhatti and Scott Cummings added to the pack while starting back-line is unchanged

Huw Jones
Huw Jones will make his comeback from injury when he comes off the Bech for Glasgow Warriors against Leinster on Saturday afternoon. Image: ©Craig Watson - www.craigwatson.co.uk

DAVE RENNIE has made two changes to the Glasgow Warriors team which will take on reigning Guinness PRO14 and Heineken Champions Cup Champions Leinster in Dublin tomorrow afternoon, with Scott Cummings and Jamie Bhatti being added to the pack.

Meanwhile, Huw Jones has been named amongst the replacements and will play his first game since picking up a knee injury whilst playing for Scotland against Ireland in this year’s Guinness Six Nations in February.

Edinburgh v Ulster preview: strength in reserve should give home side the edge

Rangi Jericevich column: There is hope on the horizon for club rugby in Scotland

Fit, fresh and ready for the fight: Tommy Seymour in confident mood about Glasgow

“We’re looking forward to testing ourselves against the best team in Europe,” said Rennie. “It’s an exciting challenge and exactly the kind of game we need as we gear towards knock out footy. We’ve prepared well and 1-23 expect to see the same levels of desperation and brutality that we saw against Ulster on Friday night.”

Chris Fusaro will captain the side.

Glasgow Warriors (v Leinster at RDS in Dublin, Saturday at 3pm, live on Premier Sports 1): Stuart Hogg; Tommy Seymour, Kyle Steyn, Sam Johnson, Niko Matawalu; Adam Hastings, Ali Price; Jamie Bhatti, Fraser Brown, Zander Fagerson, Scott Cummings, Jonny Gray, Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro©, Matt Fagerson. Subs: Grant Stewart, Alex Allan, D’Arcy Rae, Bruce Flockhart, Adam Ashe, George Horne, Pete Horne, Huw Jones.

Leinster: Rob Kearney; Jordan Larmour, Joe Tomane, Robbie Henshaw, Dave Kearney; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Ed Byrne, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Devin Toner, Jack Dunne,  Josh Murphy, Seán O’Brien, Caelan Doris. Subs:  Seán Cronin, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Will Connors, Max Deegan, Hugh O’Sullivan, Ciarán Frawley, Adam Byrne.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (ITA)

Unavailable Warriors players: Callum Gibbins (head), Nick Grigg (ankle), Siua Halanukonuka (shoulder), Lee Jones (knee), Oli Kebble (back), Matt Smith (shoulder), Tim Swinson (ankle), George Turner (head), DTH van der Merwe (shoulder) and Ryan Wilson (knee).

Edinburgh v Ulster preview: strength in reserve should give home side the edge


About David Barnes 4028 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.