James Lang the shock inclusion in Scotland’s summer Tour squad

Stuart McInally to captain the touring party

Stuart McInally will captain Scotland's tour squad
Stuart McInally will captain Scotland's tour squad ***Image: Craig Watson - www.craigwatson.co.uk

SIX uncapped players have been named in the Scotland squad for the summer tour to Canada, the United States and Argentina – including 23-year-old Harlequins stand-off James Lang, a former Scotland Under-18 cap. The other potential debutants are Matt Fagerson, Adam Hastings and George Horne from Glasgow Warriors, along with Edinburgh pair Lewis Carmichael and Jamie Ritchie.

Among the most significant absentees from the squad of 33 are John Barclay, Jonny Gray, Greig Laidlaw, Huw Jones, Finn Russell and Ryan Wilson. With both Six Nations captain Barclay and his predecessor Laidlaw being rested, Stuart McInally takes over as skipper.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 3)

“There are twin goals for this tour,” head coach Gregor Townsend said. “The first is to build on the work we’ve done so far this season and finish with improved performances. We also have the Rugby World Cup in our thoughts, as this will be our last tour before we leave for Japan next year.

“Touring and staying together for four weeks and experiencing different environments will be very informative – seeing how players get on with each other, how much they improve and how they rise to each challenge we face on tour.”


Alex Dunbar (Glasgow)

Nick Grigg (Glasgow)

Chris Harris (Newcastle)

Adam Hastings (Glasgow)

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh)

Stuart Hogg (Glasgow)

George Horne (Glasgow)

Peter Horne (Glasgow)

Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow)

Lee Jones (Glasgow)

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)

James Lang (Harlequins)

Byron McGuigan (Sale)

Ali Price (Glasgow)

Duncan Taylor (Saracens)


Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)

Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow)

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh)

Fraser Brown (Glasgow)

Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh)

Allan Dell (Edinburgh)

David Denton (Worcester)

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow)

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow)

Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)

Richie Gray (Toulouse)

Luke Hamilton (Leicester)

Murray McCallum (Edinburgh)

Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)

Tim Swinson (Glasgow)

Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)

George Turner (Glasgow)

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 3)

English Premiership clubs refuse to release Scots until five days before Under-20 World Championship


About Stuart Bathgate 1259 Articles
Stuart has been the rugby correspondent for both The Scotsman and The Herald, and was also The Scotsman’s chief sports writer for 14 years from 2000.