Glasgow Warriors and Leinster drawn in same Guinness PRO14 conference

Edinburgh are up against Munster, Connacht, the Blues, Scarlets, Benetton and the Southern Kings

Glasgow Warriors and Leinster met in the grand Final of last season's Guinness PRO14 at Celtic Park. Image: © Craig Watson -

THE two finalists in last year’s Guinness PRO14 will go up against each other in Conference A during the coming campaign, with Glasgow Warriors and champions Leinster being joined by Dan McFarland’s rapidly improving Ulster, the Ospreys, the Dragons, Zebre and the Cheetahs.

Edinburgh have been placed in Conference B, where Munster will be favourites to finish top, while Connacht, Cardiff Blues, Scarlets, Benetton and the Southern Kings will all challenge Richard Cockerill’s team in the race to make the end-of-season play-offs.

The rather lopsided looking draw is because it is based on league points accumulated during the regular section of last season. Although Leinster finished 13 points clear at the top of Conference B, their total for the campaign of 76 was less than Glasgow’s 81 and Munster’s 77 in Conference B.

Conference A

Glasgow Warriors (SCO 1)

Leinster Rugby (IRE 2)

Ulster Rugby (IRE 3)

Ospreys Rugby (WAL 1)

Dragons Rugby (WAL 4)

Zebre Rugby Club (ITA 2)

Toyota Cheetahs (SA 1)

Conference B

Edinburgh Rugby (SCO 2)

Munster Rugby (IRE 1)

Connacht Rugby (IRE 4)

Cardiff Blues (WAL 2)

Scarlets (WAL 3)

Benetton Rugby (ITA 1)

Isuzu Southern Kings (SA 2)

How the Conferences were drawn – 

First, all teams were placed into a consolidated table based on league point collected.

1 Glasgow Warriors (81 pts)
2 Munster Rugby (77)
3 Leinster Rugby (76)
4 Ulster Rugby (63)
5 Connacht Rugby (61)
6 Ospreys Rugby (58)
7 Benetton Rugby (57)
8 Cardiff Blues (54)
9 Scarlets (52)
10 Edinburgh Rugby (51)
11 Toyota Cheetahs (46)
12 Dragons Rugby (26)
13 Isuzu Southern Kings (22)
14 Zebre Rugby Club (19)

Next,  each team was slotted into their union ranking.

SCO 1: Glasgow Warriors (81)
SCO 2: Edinburgh Rugby (51)

ITA 1: Benetton Rugby (57)
ITA 2: Zebre Rugby Club (19)

SA 1: Toyota Cheetahs (46)
SA 2: Isuzu Southern Kings (22)

IRE 1: Munster Rugby (77)
IRE 2: Leinster Rugby (76)
IRE 3: Ulster Rugby (63)
IRE 4: Connacht Rugby (61)

WAL 1: Ospreys Rugby (58)
WAL 2: Cardiff Blues (54)
WAL 3: Scarlets (52)
WAL 4: Dragons (26)

As the team with the most points Glasgow Warriors were placed into Conference A to allow the population to follow the sequence below:

Conference A
Scotland 1 (Glasgow Warriors)
Ireland 2 (Leinster Rugby)
Ireland 3 (Ulster Rugby)
Wales 1 (Ospreys Rugby)
Wales 4 (Dragons Rugby)
Italy 2 (Zebre Rugby Club)
South Africa 1 (Toyota Cheetahs)

Conference B
Scotland 2 (Edinburgh Rugby)
Ireland 1 (Munster Rugby)
Ireland 4 (Connacht Rugby)
Wales 2 (Cardiff Blues)
Wales 3 (Scarlets)
Italy 1 (Benetton Rugby)
South Africa 2 (Isuzu Southern Kings)

“This sequencing is put in place to ensure each union is equally represented in each Conference which is a guiding principal of the format of the Guinness PRO14,” explained the tournament organisers.

Long Read: Corporate governance – it’s all about the people!


THE OFFSIDE LINE'S coverage of Glasgow Warriors is powered by MCCREA FINANCIAL SERVICES.

McCrea Financial Services sponsor Glasgow Warriors and provide a wide range of financial advisory services including mortgage, pension and retirement planning advice. See to contact them for more information.
About David Barnes 3033 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.