Glasgow v Leinster: Warriors name seven released Scotland squad members in 23

Richie Gray misses out after suffering delayed concussion last weekend

George Horne
George Horne will be back on Glasgow duty against Leinster. ©INPHO/Craig Watson.

GLASGOW have named an all-international back line for tomorrow night’s PRO14 match against Leinster, with Huw Jones, Sam Johnson, Nick Grigg and George Horne all available after being released by Scotland. Three others who were freed by Gregor Townsend are also in the 23, with Rob Harley starting at lock and George Turner and Ratu Tagive on the bench. Richie Gray, the eighth player who was released by the national coach, is unavailable after suffering delayed concussion from last week’s loss to Ospreys.

With Kiran McDonald still isolating after being identified as a close contact of someone who tested positive for Covid-19, Gray’s absence has exacerbated the Warriors’ shortage of locks caused. The bench therefore includes two back-row players, Fotu Lokotui and Chris Fusaro. 

Head coach Danny Wilson has made four changes from the team that lost to Ospreys last time out. Hooker Grant Stewart makes his first start of the season as does winger Niko Matawalu, while Harley and Horne are the other two alterations.

Glasgow have lost two of their three league games to date, but should arguably have had the Ospreys game won by half-time. Leinster, the defending champions, have won all three of their matches so far.

“Leinster are a good side with good depth across the park,” Wilson said. “We’re well aware of the challenge and we’ve got a good side stepping out on the field tomorrow night.
“It’s good to welcome back some of our international boys. We have a good a mix of youth and experience in the squad again, which is good for the future of the club.”

Glasgow Warriors (v Leinster at Scotstoun, Monday 8.15pm): H Jones; T Seymour, N Grigg, S Johnson, N Matawalu; P Horne, G Horne; A Seiuli, G Stewart, D Rae, R Harley, H Bain, R Wilson (captain), T Gordon, T Ioane. Substitutes: G Turner, A Allan, E Pieretto, C Fusaro, F Lokotui, J Dobie, B Thomson, R Tagive.

Leinster: J O’Brien; C Kelleher, R O’Loughlin, T O’Brien, D Kearney; H Byrne, L McGrath; P Dooley, J Tracy, M Bent, R Molony, D Toner,  J Murphy, S Penny, R Ruddock (captain). Substitutes: D Sheehan, M Milne, T Clarkson, J Dunne, S Fardy, H O’Sullivan, D Hawkshaw, D Leavy.

Referee: B Whitehouse (Wales).


About Stuart Bathgate 1393 Articles
Stuart has been the rugby correspondent for both The Scotsman and The Herald, and was also The Scotsman’s chief sports writer for 14 years from 2000.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.