Callum Gibbins ruled out of Glasgow-Exeter clash

Omission of openside is only change in Warriors 15 from team that started against Sale

Callum Gibbins. Image: © Craig Watson.
Callum Gibbins. Image: © Craig Watson.

GLASGOW have been forced to change their starting line-up for tomorrow’s Champions Cup match against Exeter Chiefs, with Callum Gibbins being ruled out of the side by a shoulder injury sustained in last week’s home win over Sale.

Chris Fusaro starts at openside in place of Gibbins in what is the only change to the 15. Tom Gordon comes on to the bench as back-row cover, while one other change to the replacements sees Kiran McDonald come in at lock instead of Tim Swinson. Ryan Wilson takes over as captain.

In addition to Gibbins, five other players are listed as unavailable due to injury: Andrew Davidson (back), Siua Halanukuonuka (calf), Lee Jones (hamstring), Sean Kennedy (foot) and Jale Vakaloloma (shoulder).

“We reward performance. Last weekend we went well especially up front and I’m looking for the boys to put in another shift this weekend,” said Warriors head coach Dave Rennie.

“Chris (Fusaro) is very experienced with 160 odd caps and is a worthy replacement for Callum, who picked up a shoulder injury in the last minute of last weekend’s game.

“Exeter have a good set piece and skill set, and a guy we know a fair bit about in the backs. They will ask questions of us up front and we need to be strong again there.”

The Warriors beat Sale 13-7 last week at Scotstoun, while Exeter went top of Pool Two with a 31-12 bonus-point win at La Rochelle.

Former Warriors favourite Stuart Hogg has been named at full-back for the Chiefs.

Glasgow Warriors (v Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park, Saturday 3.15pm): T Seymour; R Tagive, N Grigg, S Johnson, D van der Merwe; A Hastings, G Horne; O Kebble, F Brown, Z Fagerson, R Harley, S Cummings, R Wilson (captain), C Fusaro, M Fagerson. Subs: G Turner, A Allan, D Rae, K McDonald, T Gordon, A Price, P Horne, K Steyn.

Exeter Chiefs: S Hogg; J Nowell, H Slade, I Whitten, T O’Flaherty; J Simmonds, N White; A Hepburn, J Yeandle, H Williams, D Dennis, J Hill, D Ewers, J Vermeulen, S Simmonds. Subs: L Cowan-Dickie, B Moon, M Street, J Kirsten, D Armand, J Maunder, G Steenson, S Hill.

Tennent’s Premiership: Round Ten preview – runners, riders and verdict


About Stuart Bathgate 1299 Articles
Stuart has been the rugby correspondent for both The Scotsman and The Herald, and was also The Scotsman’s chief sports writer for 14 years from 2000.