JOHN DALZIEL has made four personnel changes for Scotland under-20s’ last game of the Six Nations Championship against Ireland this Friday (kick-off 7.35 pm) at Donnybrook in Dublin, with Tom Galbraith taking on the captaincy in the absence of lock Scott Cummings, who has been recalled by pro-team Glasgow Warriors.

Galbraith is one of two changes to the backline, moving from centre to full-back for the Championship finale, while his Melrose club-mate, George Taylor,  is promoted from the bench to take over the number 12 shirt.

In the pack, Stephen Ainslie is set to make his starting debut for Scotland under-20, as he comes in to replace Cummings, while Boroughmuir’s Scott Burnside will make his second start in this year’s Championship at blindside flanker, with  Andrew Davidson unavailable due to a concussion sustained against France.  One change in the front-row sees Callum Sheldon return at tighthead prop.

On the bench, Hamish Bain and Lee Scott will make their Scotland under-20 debut if they take to the field.

“Firstly, I would like to congratulate Tom [Galbraith] and wish him all the best on taking on the captaincy for this match. He epitomises and embraces the team’s values and ethos, and we have no doubts he’ll lead by example this weekend,” said head coach Dalziel.

“We know that everyone in this squad is capable of doing a job, and those who have been promoted to the starting XV, or gained a spot on the bench, will give their everything and fully deserve their call-up.”

“The squad is looking forward to getting back on the road and facing up to the challenge Ireland will present at home.

“We were disappointed with the result against France, but there were a lot of positives to take from the performance and we’ll look to build on them for this Friday’s game.

“The mood in camp this week has been focussed and determined, and we want to finish what has already been a successful campaign on a high and with a third win.”

Scotland under-20 team to play Ireland under-20 in the Six Nations Championship at Donnybrook, Dublin, this Friday (kick-off 7.35pm) –

15. Tom Galbraith CAPTAIN (Melrose)**

14. Darcy Graham (Hawick)*

13. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)

12. George Taylor (Melrose)**

11. Ben Robbins (Currie)**


10. Adam Hastings (Bath Rugby)

9. Hugh Fraser (Heriot’s)**


1. Murray McCallum (Heriot’s)**

2. Jake Kerr (Boroughmuir)**

3. Callum Sheldon (Leeds Beckett University)

4. Callum Hunter-Hill (Stirling County)**

5. Stephen Ainslie (Currie)

6. Scott Burnside (Boroughmuir)*

7. Matt Smith (Glasgow Hawks)**

8. Ally Miller (Melrose)**


16. Lewis Anderson (Ayr)

17. George Thornton (Bishop Burton College)

18. Adam Nicol (Stirling County)

19. Hamish Bain (Currie)*

20. Lee Scott (Ayr)

21. Ruaridh Dawson (Newcastle Falcons)

22. Robbie Nairn (Harlequins)

23. Ruairi Howarth (Gala)*


* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy stage 2 player

** BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy stage 3 player

Image courtesy: Scottish Rugby/SNS Group

We hope you enjoyed reading this article


Season Appeal 2022 - 2023

We hope you are enjoying our unrivalled coverage of Scottish Rugby. While mainstream media continues to reduce its interest in the rugby family in Scotland, The Offside Line does its very best to make sure all levels of the domestic game are reported.

Our commitment to the game and sharing its stories means that we do not have a paywall, so we would ask you (only if you can!) to support The Offside Line, either with a one off donation, or with a monthly contribution.

We have been keeping Scottish rugby in the news since 2016 and will have 3 million page views this year, making The Offside Line first for Scottish rugby.

THE OFFSIDE LINE’S coverage of grassroots, youth and schools rugby is supported by MACRON STORE EDINBURGH (COLIN CAMPBELL SPORTS). Click HERE to contact the team for information on how they can help with your club or school’s kit supply demands.
About David Barnes 3187 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.