THE teams for tonight’s under-16 and under-18 National Youth League Cup Finals are listed below. The matches will be played on the main pitch at Murrayfield.


Stirling County are defending champions in the under-18 tournament and will start this year’s showpiece event as favourites after defeating Ayr home and away on their way to finishing top of the President’s Conference this season.

However, Ayr are bound to be spurred on by a sizeable travelling support – who will have made the trip to the capital to see their club represented at under-16 level as well. It is the third year on the trot that the Millbrae outfit has been represented on finals day at both age-grades. Hawick Albion will provide the opposition in the under-16 game.

Full match reports from both games will be published on The Offside Line on Friday evening.

U16 Final (kick-off 5.45pm)

Ayr: Jake Jacobson; Chris Easton, Chris Bain, Tom Lanni, Jonathon Easton; Andy Morrison, Craig Doolan; Conlan McLuckie, Scott Clelland, Ben Cree, Euan Bulloch, Dylan Wilson, Harry Ledgerwood, Olly Mossie CAPTAIN, Stephen McLarty. Replacements: Matthew Field, Conrad Lynch, Mark Brennan, Max Glen, Jason McGinness, Keelan McCartney, Ross Watson.

Hawick Albion: Bailey Donaldson, Finnen Gorden Woolley, Mully Bannerman, Andrew Mitchell CAPTAIN, James Delaney; Evan Alexander, Paul Brunton; Nathan Murray, Moises Silveira, Aaron Fletcher, Ben Murdoch, Jamie Grant, Macaulay Walker, Rhys Tait, Billy McNeil. Replacements: David Palmer, Ryan Middlemas, Dylan Wyllie, Paul Goldie, Ben Chelley, Brodie Graham, Alex Jones.

U18 Final (kick-off 7.30pm)

Ayr: James Baird; Rory McMurray, Jack Gaw, Harry Lynch, Mac McInnes; Ross McCorkindale,Cameron Black; Logan Richardson, Seth Rae, Craig Miller, Euan Hamilton, Declan Bryce, Mitchell Wyllie, Calum Gaw, Cameron Reece. Replacements: Stuart Collier, Jack Yuille, Calvin Stillie, Jack Burns, Kerr Borland, Jack Rennie, Craig Hunter.

Stirling County: Kieran Gammie; Cameron Hill, Andrew McLean, James Gibson CAPTAIN, Tommy Johnston, Jonathan Ross, Aidan Riddick, Connor Clark, Bryce Robertson, Ross Murray, Cameron Keys, Ross Bundy, Cameron Blakemore, Donald McLaren, Wallace Nelson. Replacements: Fraser Muir, Lachlan MacKay, Andrew Rutherford, Derek Sneddon, Craig Jardine, Adam Shaw, James Manners.

Image courtesy: Stirling County Facebook page

About David Barnes 3991 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.