Six Edinburgh and five Glasgow players shortlisted for PRO14 Dream Team

The 45 nominations will be whittled down to the final XV on a TV special on Premier Sports One tomorrow night

Zander Fagerson and Pierre Schoeman have both been nominated for the Guinness Pro14 Dream Team. Image: Craig Watson

SIX Edinburgh players and five Glasgow Warriors players have made the 45-man short-list for the 2018-19 Guinness PRO14 Dream Team, with the final line-up to be revealed tomorrow [Thursday] night in a TV special broadcast on Premier Sports 1 [at 8pm] and eir sport 1 [at 7pm].

Edinburgh are represented by props Pierre Schoeman and WP Nel, back-rowers Hamish Watson and Viliame Mata, stand-off Jaco van der Walt and winger Darcy Graham.

Warriors, meanwhile, have prop Zander Fagerson, second-rows Scott Cummings and Jonny Gray, stand-off Adam Hastings and outside-centre Nick Grigg nominated.

Glasgow v Leinster: ‘Nothing is more important than this weekend’ – Rhys Ruddock

“Nonsense”: Celtic legend Jim Craig gives Leo Cullen short shrift

Welsh clubs still to fully commit to cross-border games against Super 6

A panel of over 75 media members – including former players and coaches – took part in a selection process which has found three nominees in each position.

In total, 12 of the 14 teams  in the league are represented, with Zebre and the Southern Kings missing out.

Benetton received the highest nominations with seven, followed by Edinburgh’s six, while Connacht, Glasgow Warriors, Munster and Ulster had five nominations each.Cardiff Blues had four nominations. Leinster, who were runaway winners of Conference A, have managed just three nominations, which is perhaps down to the depth of their squad and ability to rotate the squad to the point where 55 different players have represented the province this season. Ospreys and Scarlets had two nominations each, while the Cheetahs got one nomination.


Nominations listed by alphabetical order:

Loosehead Prop: Dave Kilcoyne (Munster); Eric O’Sullivan (Ulster); Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh)

Hooker: Epalahame Faiva (Benetton Rugby); Rob Herring (Ulster); Ken Owens (Scarlets)

Tighthead Prop: Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), WP Nel (Edinburgh), Marco Riccioni (Benetton Rugby)

Second Row: Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Federico Ruzza (Benetton Rugby)

Second Row: Scott Fardy (Leinster); Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors); Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)

Blindside Flanker: Max Deegan (Leinster); Peter O’Mahony (Munster); Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues)

Openside Flanker: Colby Fainga’a (Connacht), Braam Steyn (Benetton); Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)

No 8: Marcel Coetzee (Ulster), Bill Mata (Edinburgh), CJ Stander (Munster)


Scrum-Half: Caolin Blade (Connacht); John Cooney (Ulster); Dewaldt Duvenage (Benetton)

Out-half: Jack Carty (Connacht); Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors); Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh)


Left Wing: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh); James Lowe (Leinster); Rabz Maxwane (Toyota Cheetahs)

Inside Centre: Bundee Aki (Connacht); Willis Halaholo (Cardiff Blues); Stuart McCloskey (Ulster)

Outside Centre: Tom Farrell (Connacht); Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues); Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)

Right Wing: Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby); Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets); Ratuva Tavuyara (Benetton Rugby)


Full Back: Dan Evans (Ospreys); Mike Haley (Munster); Matthew Morgan (Cardiff Blues)

  • The best talent from eir sport and Premier Sport will break down the Dream Team selections and discuss who has rightly won their spot, and who was unlucky to miss out. Murray Kinsella, Rory Lawson, Sean Holley and Luke Fitzgerald, who were all part of the 75-plus voting panel, will come together for this TV special to voice their opinions on the best performers in the Guinness PRO14.

The people have spoken: May 7th to May 20th 2019


About David Barnes 3906 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.