Draw for preliminary round of Women’s Cup Competition unveiled

11 pools of three teams will compete on a round-robin basis to determine who progresses to the top tier Sarah Beaney Cup, the second tier Plate or the third tier Bowl competitions

Sophie Anderson
Sophie Anderson of Hillhead Jordanhill tries to keep her eye on the prize during last year's Sarah Beaney Cup Final clash against Watsonians. Image: ©Fotosport/David Gibson

THE composition of the pools and the fixture schedule for the preliminary round of this season’s Women’s Cup Competition has been made. There will be 11 pools of three, playing a round-robin format, with the pools being drawn on a regional basis in line with the suggested (by clubs) format of a split of Premiership, National and Regional teams. 

Pool 1: Ayr, Biggar and Wigtownshire

Pool 2: Cartha Queens Park, Oban Lorne and West of Scotland

Pool 3: Hillhead Jordanhill, Stewartry and Hamilton

Pool4: Stirling County, Orkney and Aberdeenshire

Pool 5: Cortsorphine Cougars, Grangemouth and Livingston

Pool 6: Watsonians, Kirkcaldy and Liberton

Pool 7: Broughton, Lismore and Falkirk

Pool 8: Heriot’s, Kelso and RDVC

Pool 9: Howe of Fife, Stornoway and Inverness Craig Dunain

Pool 10: Glasgow University, Annan and Ardrossan Academicals

Pool 11: Garioch, Shetland and Huntly

The first round of fixtures will be played on 3rd March: Ayr v Biggar; Cartha Queens Park v Oban Lorne; Hillhead Jordanhill v Stewartry; Glasgow University v Annan; Ardrossan Academicals v Greenock Wanderers; Corstorphine Cougars v Grangemouth; Broughton v Lismore; Watsonians v Kirkcaldy; Heriot’s v Kelso; Stornoway v Inverness Craig Dunain; Orkney v Aberdeenshire; Shetland v Peterhead; Garioch v Huntly
The second round of fixtures will be played on 10th March: Biggar v Wigtownshire; Oban Lorne v West of Scotland; Stewartry v Hamilton; Annan v Ardrossan Academicals; Greenock Wanderers v Glasgow University; Grangemouth v Livingston; Lismore v Falkirk; Kirkcaldy v Liberton; Kelso v RDVC; Howe of Fife v Stornoway; Stirling County v Orkney; Shetland v Huntly; Peterhead v Garioch.

The third round of fixtures will be played on 17th March: Wigtownshire v Ayr; West of Scotland v Cartha Queens Park; Hamilton v Hillhead Jordanhill; Glasgow University v Ardrossan Academicals; Annan v Greenock Wanderers; Livingston v Corstorphine Cougars; Falkirk v Broughton; Liberton v Watsonians; RDVC v Heriot’s; Inverness Craig Dunain v Howe of Fife; Aberdeenshire v Stirling County; Garioch v Shetland; Huntly v Peterhead.

  • Standby date: 24 March 2019

The final standings of each pool will determine whether clubs are entered into the top tier Sarah Beaney Cup, the second tier Women’s Plate or the third tier Women’s Bowl, with the draw for those competitions being made on Tuesday 19th March and details being shared with teams on Wednesday 20th March. The first round of these competition will be on 31st March.

The process to confirm all League and Cup competition rules and regulations is ongoing and clubs involved have been invited to review and comment on these draft rules. The final League and Cup Competition rules and regulations will be shared upon completion of this process ahead of the competition commencing.

Scottish Rugby unveil season structure revamp for women’s domestic game

We hope you’ve enjoyed reading this article

Support our new, improved coverage this season 2019-20, with Super 6, National 1 and 2 leagues, fixtures and tables, and the small matter of our comprehensive coverage of Scotland at the RWC from Japan.

Invest in our gameyou can make a difference by keeping Scottish rugby at all levels in the news.

David Barnes
About David Barnes 1859 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.