BT Premiership: Team-of the-week (round ten)

Iain Moody of Melrose is in the second-row Image: Fotosport/David Gibson

HAT-TRICK hero Fraser Thomson recaptures the number fifteen jersey as one of four Melrose players – alongside inside centre Craig Jackson, second-row Ian Moody and blindside flanker Neil Irvine-Hess – in the dream team this week, off the back of a dominant first half performance against Watsonians on Friday night.

Rhys Davies of Currie Chieftains edges selection at number eight, just ahead Pete McCallum of Ayr. Michael Maltman of Heriot’s and Stephen Ainslie very unfortunate to be behind Irvine-Hess in the battle for the number six jersey – which has a tendency to be one of the most keenly contested positions.

Two Ayr players do make the cut, however, with Scott Lyle in at stand-off after deputising masterfully for the unavailable Frazier Climo against Boroughmuir at Millbrae on Saturday afternoon, while Lewis Anderson gets the nod at hooker after making more tackles than any other player in his team apart from McCallum.

Craig Robertson of Heriot’s is named on the left wing (just ahead of Sam Pecqueur) for his role in toppling Stirling County at Bridgehaugh; with his club mates Struan Cesssford, Jack Turley and Jack McLean all in the pack.

Kaleem Barretto retains his spot at scrum-half, with Tom Wilson of Heriot’s and Murdo McAndrew of Melrose unfortunate on this occasion.


15. Fraser Thomson (Melrose)


14. Ruaraidh Smith (Currie Cheiftains)

13. Harvey Elms (Currie Chieftains)

12. Craig Jackson (Melrose)

11.  Craig Robertson (Heriot’s)


10. Scott Lyle (Ayr)

9.  Kaleem Barreto (Marr)


1. William Farquhar (Marr)

2. Lewis Anderson (Ayr)

3. Struan Cessford (Heriot’)

4. Iain Moody (Melrose)

5. Jack Turley (Heriot’s)

6. Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose)

7. Jack McLean (Heriot’s)

8. Rhys Davies (Currie Cheiftains)