BT Premiership: Team-of the-week (round 12)

image: ©Fotosport/David Gibson

A PARTICULARLY  tight call at number eight. Euan Dods made an excellent impact during his 40 minutes for Watsonians, Ruaridh Leishman made more tackles than any other player in the league and was also busy with the ball in hand, Bruce McNeil was at the heart of Hawick’s second consecutive bonus point win and Jake Eaglesham was perhaps Glasgow Hawks’ best performer – but Martin Hughes shades it on the back of his all-action display for Heriot’s as they moved to second in the BT Premiership table.

Hawick, who became the first team this season to secure a bonus point win at Marr, provide both  flankers, with Stuart Graham just edging out the industrious Shaun MacDonald of Stirling County on the open-side, and Guy Graham once again selected at blind-side despite stiff competition from Michael Maltman of Heriot’s.

Jack Turley, who picked up his 12th try of the season for Heriot’s, is in the second-row, alongside Jamie Hodgson of Watsonians, who grows in stature every week.

Ross Graham registered excellent personal statistics for Watsonians to get the nod at hooker, alongside his club-mate Kyle White at tight-head – who is selected just ahead of Adam Nicol of Stirling County and Elliot Millar-Mills of Heriot’s. Shawn Muir of Hawick edges out Nick Fraser for loose-head berth..

Tom Wilson carried on his good form from last week to retain the number nine jersey, while his Heriot’s half-back partner Stuart Edwards made a strong case for selection at stand-off but ultimately missed out to two-try Lee Armstrong of Hawick.

Rory Hutton started at outside centre then moved to stand-off, where he played a huge role in Watsonans’ rousing second half demolition of Stirling County. He is selected in the position be started the game at, alongside the pugnacious DJ Innes, also of Watsonians.

Both Heriot’s wingers – Liam Steele and Charlie Simpson (who took his try excellently) – were a handful on Saturday, and they are joined in the back three by Ali Weir of Hawick at full-back.


15. Ali Weir (Hawick)


14. Liam Steele (Heriots)

13. Rory Hutton (Watsonians)

12. DJ Innes (Watsonians)

11. Charlie Simpson (Heriots)


10. Lee Armstong (Hawick)

9. Tom Wilson (Heriot’s)


1.Shawn Muir (Hawick)

2. Ross Graham (Watsonians)

3. Kyle White (Watsonians)

4. Jack Turley (Heriots)

5. Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians)

6. Guy Graham (Hawick)

7. Stuart Graham (Hawick)

8.Martin Hughes (Heriots)