Ben Cairns reveals Heriot’s squad for Super Series Sprint

16 players have been retained from previous campaign

BEN  CAIRNS has names his 34 strong squad to compete in the Super Series [previously Super6] Sprint, which kicks off in two weekends’ time with a home game against Edinburgh Rugby ‘A’ Saturday on the 8th April at 5pm.

Among the new faces are Cairn Ramsay (Currie Chieftains), Euan McVie (Edinburgh Accies), Cameron Cobbett (Hartpury), Wallace Nelson (Southern Knights), Cameron Jones (Ayrshire Bulls), Euan McAra (Glasgow Hawks), Liam Richman (Queanbeyan Whites, Canberra, Australia), Aidan Boyle (Durham University), Matt Davidson (Scotland 7s), Grant Hughes (Scotland 7s) and Mikey Gray (returning from the USA). Charlie Jupp and Sam Wallace also move up from the Heriot’s Blues side which competed in the Premiership this season.

The five contracted Academy players aligned to the Goldenacre outfit are Dan Gamble, Matt Russell, Ben Evans, Jacob Henry and Nathan Sweeney.

Disappointment but not despondency as Aberdeen Grammar suffer consecutive relegations

Stuart Hogg to retire from rugby after World Cup

National Youth Boys’ U18 Cup final: Boroughmuir defeat Peebles Colts to make it three in a row

“I am delighted to be at the stage where we are naming the group that will take us through the FOSROC Super Series Sprint and beyond,” said Cairns. :We are really happy with the balance in the group. We have a great mix of players who will wear the Heriot’s jersey for the first time and guys who know exactly what it means to put it on. We’ve also got a great blend of young up-and-coming guys with players who know what is required at this level.

“We’ve had a large proportion of the group in with us since mid-February while others will trickle in as their club and university commitments finish. We’ve got a brilliant start to the season on the horizon and we cannot wait to get into match action.”

Heriot’s have a pre-season hit-out against Watsonians under the lights at Myreside this Friday night, kicking-off at 7.45pm.

Heriot’s Rugby’s 2023 Super Series Sprint squad –

PropsCairn Ramsay,  Chris Keen, Euan McLaren, Josh Scott, Struan Cessford and Dan Gamble *

Hookers – Cammy Fenton and Michael Liness

Second-rows – Ronan Seydak, Ruairidh Leishman and Euan McVie

Back-rowsCallum Anderson, Cameron Cobbett, Charlie Jupp, Iain Wilson (CAPTAIN), Sam Wallace and Wallace Nelson

Scrum-halves – Cameron Jones and Euan McAra

Stand-offs – Bruce Houston, Ross Jones, Liam Richman and Matt Russell*

Centres – Aidan Boyle, Grant Hughes, Kyle Browne and Matt Davidson

Back three – Dan King, James Couper,  Mikey Gray, Sam Pecqueur, Ben Evans*,  Jacob Henry* and Nathan Sweeney*

* denote Scottish Rugby academy players

Disappointment but not despondency as Aberdeen Grammar suffer consecutive relegations

About David Barnes 3908 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including he Herald/Sunday Herald, The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Daily Record, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.